Solved: PC will not recognise any keyboard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
My son said he was on Sype talking and the PC froze. He rebooted only to find that the PC would not recognise any commands fromthe keyboard.I have several keyboards so i tried different ones,but to no avail. I rebooted several times. same thing. The computer starts up, gets to the windows logo and either continues to try to boot, or I get a blank screen. I tried the F8, delete, different keys but its reading nothing. When I reboot the PC sometimes it brings me to the window that asks me if I want to start normally, or in safe mode, or in Best last known configuration...etc, but when I try to move the arrow keys...once again...it doesnt recognise anything.
Any ideas?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Are you trying both usb and ps2 keyboards? Next step would be to get into bios and reset the defaults but to help you get to the bios, we need to know details about the computer.
 

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
I wish I could give you specific details but without getting into the PC, Im not very helpful. However,I'll try....
it has an intel qx6600 quad core extreme chip
Nvidia 9800 GT
Xp pro service pack 2
Asus P5K/P5KC motherboard
4g ddr2 ram
Im not sure if you need anything else but letme know..
thanks
liz
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I wish I could give you specific details but without getting into the PC, Im not very helpful. However,I'll try....
it has an intel qx6600 quad core extreme chip
Nvidia 9800 GT
Xp pro service pack 2
Asus P5K/P5KC motherboard
4g ddr2 ram
Im not sure if you need anything else but letme know..
thanks
liz
That's fine but what about answers to type of keyboard and bios settings also critical?
 

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
the keyboard is a BTC,model 6200C. As for the Bios settings...I have no clue.I'm unable to get into the PC for the info without a keyboard?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
OK one more time and bear in mind we cannot help you unless you answer this specific question. You said you used more than 1 keyboard and we need to know IF YOU USED USB AND PS2 keyboards to try to see if they worked?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
OK I would try to borrow a PS2 keyboard to try as well. To enter the bios on most pc's you press "del", F1 or F2 continuously after pressing the power button and until you see you are entering setup. If you tell us the brand name pc and model, I can be more specific as there are other entries for some other brands as well. Once in the bios or setup if you look for sometimes "Integrated Peripherals" but it could be under any heading as again we don't have a clue about anything on your pc, you want to see if usb keyboard and mouse is enabled. If you cannot find that simply selecting "Reset to optimized Default Settings" or equivalent should answer about the bios anyway.
 

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
OK....I found an old PS2 keyboard lying around in one of the boxes...It seems The PC is working off this keyboard. except once all the programs booted up, it looks like I have a virus or a trojan...my desktop has a blue screen that tells me I need to download softwaRE.
any idea why it doesnt read USB keyboards?
 

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
I am printing out your instructions above and will follow then re; the bios.
thanks
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Download and install this then update and run a complete scan, then reboot and run again.
Let us know what it finds.
www.superantispyware.com

Resetting the bios defaults might make the usb work incidentally but you need to do that scan first.
 

Jayjay123

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
8
Adware Generic3 TZP
Adware Generic3 TXV
Adware Generic3 RFI
Adware Generic3 UCX
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent.AMIP
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent. ALYU
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent. AELT
trojan Horse agent AELT

My husband custom built the PC and at the moment is in San Francisco and I'm in Utah, otherwise I would have got him to look at the problem for me. He says there is no brand name but its an ASUS Bios.
I looked under the "custom" in the Bios and this was the info on the PC:
ASUS BIOS
Version 0903
Build date: 12/11/07
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) Quad CPU @2.66GHz
Speed: 2666MHz
Count 4
I'm not sure if this bit of info helps for you.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Adware Generic3 TZP
Adware Generic3 TXV
Adware Generic3 RFI
Adware Generic3 UCX
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent.AMIP
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent. ALYU
Trojan Horse Downloader.agent. AELT
trojan Horse agent AELT
Reboot update and run again but choose "the complete scan" not "quick scan"
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top