[SOLVED] pc won't boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cj_white

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
333
i just built my 1st pc. when you hit the power button the cpu fan and hard drive come on but it will not engage my monitor. the computer will not even go through POST ( i double checked the speaker to make sure i didn't have the wires backward) i went to a friends house and put his cpu ( that is know to work) on my MB but it did the same thing. therefore i have ruled out the cpu. i also tried his video card just in case but it didn't make a difference. this leads me to believe my MB is shot which is news i can't get myself to accept because this is the 2nd one i have put in this pc the 1st not even powering up at all. i hope someone can tell me another reason why this is happening so i don't have to buy another MB. PLEASE help me

thanks,
Jeff

600mhz athlon
soyo sy-k7via
512mb ram
nvidia 8mb vid card
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Most often it's memory that causes the problem. It may be bad or seated incorrectly.
 

cj_white

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
333
i took out the memory in the bad pc and replaced it with the ram from my good pc and it did the same thing. the cpu fan comes on and the HD spins and thats it no beeps the cd rom light doesn't even come on, but thanks for the tip
 

cj_white

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
333
my MB is jumperless and i am using AGP. would using a PCI matter? i've got one i might try. but even if it was video wouldn't POST still execute? thanks
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
You could have a bad video card. I was thinking maybe you were trying to use a PCI card with a MB that has AGP. The default is AGP which must be disabled to use PCI. You could have a bad MB.
 

cj_white

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
333
i was using agp and it didnt work and i tried a known working video card and it still didn't. i think its a pretty good chance its my MB but something seems a little screwy that i've gone through 2 MB and neither have worked. maybe i have a lot of static in my house or something

thanks Dan O
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
1,118
There could be a power problem, not enough to fully boot?
Worth a try anyhow.

good luck.
 

cj_white

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
333
i finally got it to work. apparently the cdrom was shorting out the mb and not letting it boot up. as soon as i unplugged the ide cable to it it booted up. thanks for all the help guys
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
You're welcome, that was a weird problem and a good find on your part. Thanks for sharing it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top