Solved: pcAnyhwere and XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Hi folks,
I just upgraded a Windows 98 SE PC to XP. Since I did this I can't get pcAnywhere to access it even though it worked fine before the upgrade.. I've checked that the firewall is disabled but still nowt.
I can access other PC's with XP without any problem so I don't think it's XP that's causing it.
Anyone got any ideas? :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
198
have you tried reinstalling pcanywhere because it may no longer have config for yr os eg windows 98 to windows xp big difference in essential os programs
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Thanks for the input folks. I'll try reinstalling Grim.
As for NeMeeting I've never heard of it.... is it good...is it expensive..... wherre do I get it... etc, etc
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
netmeeting is part of windows - if its not under communications then goto program files > netmeeting > conf.exe

i have been using netmeeting to share work, chat, look at other peoples desktops, watch what they do, collabrate - etc at work for 7 years now.....

it does have some sort of remote facility - but i had troble with this and use pcanywhere on XP and win2k with no problems

good luck
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
Netmmeting is what I used for remote connections on my Wan to save hours of driving and best of all it is FREE. We stoped using PC Anywhere because of NetMeeting.
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Thanks guys, (No gender implied)

Re-installing did nowt, but I did find on the Symantec site that you must install AFTER you upgrade. They say that if pcAnywhere is installed before you upgrade you will get problems. They however did'nt say how to fix these problems. :mad:

Thanks etif found it. I'll give it a try.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Messages
1,280
FYI -- If I remember correctly, pcAnywhere 10.5 is the minimum for it to work on XP -- I was told version 10 will not work with XP.
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Thanks Shadow, I've read that on a couple of support sites, however I have two other machine's with XP that I contact with no problems.
I think I'll invest in version 11 and see if that will cure my problem.

Thanks for your input.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
V11 works fine - i use it
but both PC need to have it on etc etc - every PC has netmeeting already - i use it to remotely help my friends and family.
however, if the other PC is unattended maybe a differt issue - although i think you can do that too on netmeetign
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Etif, I've found that pcAnywhere works a lot better when no one is attending the remote PC. So it looks like I'm stuck with my problem 'till I fix it.
Since I last posted I've been trying Symantec's Knowledge base. They don't seem to be up to-date with all of the issues.
Any suggestions guys. :confused:
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Version 11 works much better with Windows2000 or XP. The video does not go into compatibility mode on the host and performance is greatly increased.

Another program I've been using that is much faster and locks up less is RADMIN. Only costs around $35. So small it fits on a floppy disk.

Also, one more reason why upgrades are not the way to go. Clean installs (while you need to reinstall your apps again) are more reliable and in the long run faster to do.
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Thanks for your input Bob, I've also tried Ver 11 but I'm still getting the same problem. I've upgraded and reinstalled.
Any further things for me to try guys
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Did you uninstall first and then reinstall.

Again, these are the types of little pain in the neck bugs that often come when doing in-place upgrades. Clean installs generally work better and are more stable.
 

Dingus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
1,175
Hi again Bob, I followed Symantec's instructions about properly uninstalling as I've found in the past the Symantec's uninstall misses a lot of files. DLL etc. So this time I didn't just uninstall but followed their Knowledge base.
Even after reinstalling Ver.11 I'm getting the same fault.
Symantec's site did say that the first time I run pcAnywhere I would have to input the ports that it uses, but this never happened even after reinstalling.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top