1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: PCI-E x16 what version?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ziggy1, Jan 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    Hi

    I'm looking for a Video card, but not sure which version my PCI-E slot is? How would I know if it is 1.0, 2.0... I doubt it is 3.0... I just don't want to be wasting money on a 3.0 if it would not be able to use it to the full extent?



    HP-Pavilion NY550AA-ABL p6240f

    ** upgraded PSU to Corsair TX 650 V2

    2.50 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q8300
    64 kilobyte primary memory cache
    2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (4 total)

    http://h20386.www2.hp.com/CanadaStore/images/p6240f.pdf
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    the specs you liked to does not say
     
  3. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Assuming the link below is the right machine:

    http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/e...329740-64546-64546-3999459-4006842.html?dnr=1

    I believe the motherboard in it is possibly (have a look and check):

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01746799&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=4006089

    however I can't seem to find anything at the moment other than it states it has a PCI-E x16 slot! To be honest I wouldn't worry too much about it, it probably won't make that much of a difference to the amount you are likely to spend and the cards are backward compatible. As far as I know there aren't many (if any) games out there that actually 'need' PCI-E 3.0 bandwidth so 2.0 is more than adequate.
     
  4. Krash

    Krash

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Recently we tested an AMD 7850 Radeon HD card (PCIe 3.0) on an Abit p35 pro that ran an E8400 precessor.
    It worked fine. Although we could not run any benchmarks (software issues) to compare performance, the card was able to render the scenes rather effectively.
     
  5. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    Yes that is my computer/ Mother board. It just seems odd that the speck is not referenced, almost as if done on purpose to not affect sales of cards, but I get that it would be backwards compatible ( much like RAM is). Thanks anyways

    I'm just looking for a half decent card at around $150 max. I also don't want a noisy fan.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    looking at prices the 550ti is around $100 as they are being discontinued the next step up are $200.00+
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    The Geforce GTX 550, 560, and 650's in both plain and Ti versions are all available in the $100 to $200 price range. AMD also has several models in that price range.
     
  9. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    I was thinking about getting this one... EVGA GeForce GTX 650 1GB GDDR5 OC PCI-E Video Card
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yeah, that should work.
     
  11. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  13. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    It;s still a decent card and it depends on what games you run, the in-game graphic settings, and resolution. Look up some reviews that have the game or similar games that you play to see what kind of performance you should expect.
     
  15. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    thanks Rob, its what led me to make this post in the first place. If I knew that because my PCI -e, which is likely only 2.0 or 2.1, really can't max out to the rated clock speed of the 3.0 cards then I wouldn't fuss so much.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved version
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,507
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084086

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice