Solved: PDF Form Fillers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Erm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
298
Hi all,

I work for a legal company and staff often have to complete PDF forms. Many of these can be filled in in Acrobat Reader and printed, but not saved and re-edited.

Therefore, we have some software called PDFill that enables us to save changes to a PDF form, print, re-edit, etc. However, some forms involve numerous calculations (which when edited in Acrobat Reader - are calculated automatically).

Does anyone know of any PDF Form filling software that will enable calculations to be done automatically? (even if I have to set up the formulas myself!)

I need to avoid Acrobat Writer at all costs!

Please Help!
Thanks in advance,
Debbie

I have attached an example.
 

Attachments

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
If this is something you need to do all the time, why would you avoid the one application that would make the job easier?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
You're not going to find anything for free. And with the specific requirement of performing calculations, I don't think you'll have much success finding shareware or other cheaper software.

The up-front costs for the software might sound steep, but what is it costing in labor to have everyone performing these calculations by hand? There is a cost in losing productivity and a savings in improving efficiency.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
Erm said:
I work for a legal company and staff often have to complete PDF forms. Many of these can be filled in in Acrobat Reader and printed, but not saved and re-edited.

Therefore, we have some software called PDFill that enables us to save changes to a PDF form, print, re-edit, etc. However, some forms involve numerous calculations (which when edited in Acrobat Reader - are calculated automatically).
If I understand your plight, I might have some help for you:

Do I understand correctly that you now have the ability to make whatever changes you need and are currently able to print those changes to paper??

If the answer to the above is YES-- then it seems to me that using a program like .pdfCreator would solve your problem. pdfCreator installs as a new "printer", so that when you tell it to print after you have made the changes you need--- Up pops a print dialogue with your current printer/s listed plus one new one called pdfCreator.

pdfCreator does not print to paper but to a .pdf file, thus saving your changes. Basically anything that can be printed to paper can be "printed" to a .pdf file. You can save your changes in this way-- using either your original file & software combination to make additional changes, or the new file.

I hope it helps,
letchworth
 

Erm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
298
Oh my god I think your right! I never thought of that! You are a diamond! Thank you soooo much! I will test that theory and let you know before I mark it solved!
 

Erm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
298
Grrrr....I get this error message when I try to print to pdf with the form attached to my original posting

ERROR: undefined
OFFENDING COMMAND: get
STACK:
/quit
-dictionary-
-mark

I think this may be because it is encrypted. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
Not sure why? Of course I do not have whatever programs you have to edit the pdf files--- but, as for the file you zipped and attached-- I was able to "PRINT" it back to a new .pdf file in about two seconds.

Have you tried your installation of pdfCreator on other documents (say, an old Word document, Excell spreadsheet, letter to Grandmother, or whatever??) I can honestly say that I have never had a problem producing a .pdf file from any program that has a print option.

Did you download the correct version of pdfCreator? (Not the language package but the program designated as PDFCreator 0.9.3----August 25, 2006?)

That's all I can think of at this moment-- but try "printing" a few files and make sure everything is working OK----- (Only other thing I can think of, I wonder if there is a permissions thing in the modified file- after you make changes--- that I don't have--- Perhaps you could try uploading a modified form (fake info, of course)-- I'd be glad to try it again.

letchworth
 

Erm

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
298
I had version 0.9.2 so I am trying the newer version. I managed to print it to a pdf but got one blank page and the afore mentioned error at the start of the next page. Did you manage to print it to a new pdf with any additions? You can make additions to the form from within acrobat reader. I'm just going to test pdf Creator with some other documents and will edit this post with the results ASAP.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
Noyb said:
How do you get the forms to pdf ???
Please see my posting #5 in this conversation (about .pdfCreator: to produce pdf files).
Noyb said:
There's a similar discussion going on here .... Using the typewriter tool
http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/534295-how-do-i-scan-document.html
Typewriter tool-- I use Foxit Reader (which has had typewriter tool for quite awhile-- glad to hear that Adobe has finally caught up)--- Yes- typewriter tool works fine to fill in blank lines.

Thanks for the question and comment
letchworth
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,345
Hope I'm not changing the course of this topic ... or butting in ...
But it seems the pdf has to be created with the typewriter rights enabled .. in order to do this in Adobe reader.
I still have a lot to learn here... but here's a sample pdf for Adobe reader with the typewriter enabled.
Still have to figure out the font size.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
Erm said:
I had version 0.9.2 so I am trying the newer version. I managed to print it to a pdf but got one blank page and the afore mentioned error at the start of the next page. Did you manage to print it to a new pdf with any additions?
I use Foxit Reader and was able, with their typewriter tool, to fill in several of the blanks and then "PRINT" to pdfCreator. None of the problems you have described have shown up for me- I do use 0.9.3- works like a charm. (Perhaps the download went awry? Try downloading it again and re-install.)
Erm said:
You can make additions to the form from within acrobat reader. I'm just going to test pdf Creator with some other documents and will edit this post with the results ASAP.
Perhaps I should update to version 8- (but with the disasters that happened in v. 6, and the discovery of Foxit-- I have been pleased to use that).

Awaiting your update on trials with other programs and your current version of pdfCreator.
letchworth
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
Noyb said:
Hope I'm not changing the course of this topic ... or butting in ...
But it seems the pdf has to be created with the typewriter rights enabled .. in order to do this in Adobe reader.
I still have a lot to learn here... but here's a sample pdf for Adobe reader with the typewriter enabled.
Still have to figure out the font size.
Not at all- perhaps we can all learn (Well, if Erm doesn't mind, I should say)-- It was really her question that prompted the thread.

As I mention above- I use Foxit Reader, which also includes typewriter tool- I just fill in the blanks with the typewriter tool and "PRINT" to pdfCreator. Works like a charm for me. Unfortunately, I don't know how to send you an attachment- (That is a feature I have not used on this board).

I need to leave for awhile-- but will read this thread later- to see if anything else developes.
letchworth
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,345
I'm Back again .... :mad:

FWIW ...
What little pdf form filling I do .. I use Photoshop .. but then I'm familiar with it.

I've been playing with Adobe Reader 8's typewriter .. and I don't like it .. not enough controls or options.
Also .. Unless I missed something ..The pdf must be saved (created) with the Typewriter enabled

Thanks to Letchworts tips ...
I found a copy of Foxit Pro .. and I like it's Typewriter much better that Adobe's Typewriter.
The Foxit pro pack must be used to enable saving without editing markups.

Don't know bout Ya'll .. but I'm learning something .. Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top