1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Photoshop - saving extracted foreground image

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by RideJunkie, Mar 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RideJunkie

RideJunkie Thread Starter

Hi all,

I'm new to Photoshop. I'm trying to save an image without the white square background. I was able to create a layer by going to Image > Extract and tracing around the object. I haven't figured out how to save the extracted object. When I save the image, it looks the same as the original (white background included). I've tried saving in different formats (JPG, GIF, PNG, etc.). How can I save the foreground image only? I've spent way too much time today looking for this, and it's probably very simple (and will make me feel like a schmuck I'm sure).

Thanks.

2. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Jay
    First .. Save the Photoshop psd file .. So you don't loose it.

I assume you want to save the layer with Transparency ??
    With the layer selected and visible .. save as a png.
    Your Viewer is probably adding the white background in place of the transparency.
    Open the png in PS and see.

Not sure where you want to go after you save the foreground.

3. RideJunkie

Saved the psd file. Saved it again as a png...still has the white background.

The layer is selected and visible in the Layers section (bottom right area), but not in the main window. I can't seem to figure out how to bring that layer image into the main area so I can save it.

4. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Jay
    I'm having a tough trying to visualize your problem ????
    Notice in the attached ...
    That the background layer is not selected (active) and the eyeball (visibility) is not selected.