1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: PHP - if/then logic

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by SociPoet, Sep 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SociPoet

SociPoet Thread Starter

Hi all,
    I'm new to the html and php coding club, so I'm learning as I go. I am developing a form on a php webpage, connecting to a MySQL database. Right now, I am working on the form validation (yes, I know everyone's favorite). Let me know what I am missing from the code below. Essentially, I am checking if fields are empty once the submit button is pushed. If any field is empty, the red html notice should appear, warning the user. If no field is empty on the pushed submit button, the form should be submitted successfully into the database. Yet, the code below does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, regardless if I fill all fields or leave an empty field. Is it my IF logic?

if (isset($_POST['Submitted']) AND
    ($_POST['date']==""
    || $_POST['state']==""
    || $_POST['county']=="")){
    ?>
    <tr><td></td><td><center><font size="2" color="red" face="arial"> Please enter all fields of your input </font></center></td></tr>
    <?php
    }
    if (isset($_POST['Submitted']) AND
    $_POST['date']!==""
    AND $_POST['state']!==""
    AND $_POST['county']!=="")
    {

$date=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['date']);
    $state=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['state']);
    $county=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['county']);

... on to form submission into database with query and all

Any suggestions are much appreciated.
    Thanks y'all!

2. colinsp

colinsp

Try assigning your post results to your variables BEFORE you do your if/then statements.

3. SociPoet

SociPoet Thread Starter