1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Pictures and Folders Shaded and say empty??

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by missjuanteo, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Well guys i got one for you, last week i removed a virus and later I noticed that my pictures folders were showing up shaded and my pics were shaded... when I clicked them they opened fine but the folders said they were empty but were not....very wierd. I am going to try to attach a screenshot for you all,


    [​IMG]



    Any help would be appreciated!!!

    sincerely, Lisa




    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Processor LE-1640, x64 Family 15 Model 127 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1790 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 2100, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 145094 MB, Free - 87977 MB; D: Total - 145141 MB, Free - 120964 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, RS740DVF
    Antivirus: AntiVir Desktop, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try the attached. Unzip, right-click the reg file, and choose "Merge".

    hiddenfix.zip
     
  3. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    ummm did that...It still looks the same. Should I restart?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Did you get a message asking you to approve the merger?

    You may have to at least restart explorer to see an effect.

    Make sure that the "Hidden" attribute is not set on any of them.

    Have you tried System Restore?
     
  5. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Yes I got the security warning and the "windows needs your permission to continue and I continued. I will restart now and come back here, wish me luck ;)
     
  6. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Crap.... it didn't work :(


    Any other idea's?
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Did you also get a warning about merging the reg file with the registry and a message that it had succeeded?

    If not, go to Start > Run, and see if regedit works. If it does, use the Import function under the File menu to import that reg file.

    How was the virus that you had removed? It is liklely that it is still present. What anti-virus are you using? Is it working properly?
     
  8. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    I did get a warning about merging the reg file, and it did say it was successful before I restarted. I thought I has previously unhidden all my files and folders...

    I looked in my documents too and ALL my pics and some of my folders there are shaded as well. Only some of them are shaded though, but even though the folder is not shaded the pics inside are shaded...wierd. notepad stuff is shaded as well.

    here are my specs on my pc, antivirus ect,

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Processor LE-1640, x64 Family 15 Model 127 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1790 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 2100, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 145094 MB, Free - 87977 MB; D: Total - 145141 MB, Free - 120964 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, RS740DVF
    Antivirus: AntiVir Desktop, Updated and Enabled
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Well, it really would be a good idea to make sure tht all is clean before going ahead. There's nothing wrong with Avira, but all of them miss things. Try a scan with the free version of Malwarebytes and see what turns up. If it finds anything at all, go to the Malware forum and read the stickies at the top there and get help making sure that your system is cleaned up. If still infected, the malware may undo anything we fix.
     
  10. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    I done some scans with spyware terminator, gone ride of what little malware it found. Download Ad-aware yesterday and it found some more stuff and got rid of that too. If you still think I should I will download Malwarebytes too and run that. I will check for your answer in the AM, off to bed now, thanks again for helping me out here, it is SO appreciated.
     
  11. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Do I have to download Malware bytes?
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It would be a good idea. I think it is one of the best. I gave up on Ad-Aware when I ran it after running some others and it consistently didn't find anything, even though the others did.

    I really think that you should go to the Malware forum for a cleanup. But let's see what Malwarebytes shows first, if you want. You don't have to turn on the Malwarebytes real-time engine. Just keep it for when you want to do an occasional scan. Only one anti-malware program should be running in the background at a time, anyway, since they can interfere with each other and slow down the machine.
     
  13. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thank you Elvandil, I will download and run it now ;)
     
  14. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    K, all done. It said no malicious items were detected. Here is the log file:


    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.51.2.1300
    www.malwarebytes.org
    Database version: 8111
    Windows 6.0.6002 Service Pack 2
    Internet Explorer 7.0.6002.18005
    07/11/2011 9:13:43 PM
    mbam-log-2011-11-07 (21-13-43).txt
    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 159965
    Time elapsed: 6 minute(s), 55 second(s)
    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 0
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0
    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Registry Data Items Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)



     
  15. missjuanteo

    missjuanteo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    should I do more than a quick scan you think?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025792

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice