1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Ping not recognized as internal or external command

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mmhah, Nov 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    When trying to perform the following cmd instruction
    C:\Documents and Settings\......\ping
    I get the following error message
    'ping' is not recognized as a internal or external command
    Please has someone got a solution?
    I'm running xp.
    Thanks
     
  2. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    That happened on my older laptop, and that basically meant that the computer could not ping the location that you wanted to ping.
     
  3. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    My problem is that I cannot ping at all?
     
  4. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Could it be that the ping.exe is corrupted? Try going to the root of the drive before pinging, ie type "cd\" before "ping blah.com"
     
  5. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah it says the system cannot find that specific path in actual fact I think ping.exe is missing from the system altogether
     
  6. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    More likely your Path is incorrectly set in System Environment so its not able to find the file ping.exe.

    In the "dos" command prompt under XP DOS emulation, navigate to /Windows/System32 and try the ping command there (not from Documents and Settings)
     
  7. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry for being ignorant but I don't know how to do that?
     
  8. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    What you do is open a Command Prompt and type:

    C: <Hit Enter>
    \Windows\System32 <Hit Enter>
    ping /? <Hit Enter>
     
  9. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks, It works really appreciated, but I am still confused as to why I cannot ping from Documents and Settings like I used to do?
    Cheers guys
     
  10. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    My guess is your computer's Path statement got messed up.

    To check it open a Command Prompt and type: Set <hit Enter>

    You should see included:

    Path C:\WINDOWS\system32

    To edit the Path to correct it select Start, right click My Computer, select Properties. Next select the Advance tab, and Environment Variables button, and select the Path variaible listed under System Variables.

    When editing it should include:

    %SystemRoot%\system32

    Which translates to something like:

    C:\WINDOWS\system32

    Each entry included in the path must be seperated by a semicolon.

    Good luck.
     
  11. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    You can also just type path at the command prompt.
     
  12. mmhah

    mmhah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks guys
    Your help is much appreciated and my problem has been resolved.
     
  13. Lutzie

    Lutzie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Hello,

    Sorry for the bump of an old thread, but it's the same subject. I cannot ping at all. I've followed the advice above and everything on my system seems to be OK.

    Full details:
    If I type CMD into "Run..." I get the normal box, but no text, and I cannot enter. Furthermore the blue title bar ends cmd.com
    However if I type in CMD.EXE I get the actual CMD prompt.

    If I then type in IPCONFIG I can see my IP address, subnet mask etc

    However if I ping that address, or indeed enter that address into a browser (To log onto my router) nothing happens. The cursor on the prompt moves down to the next line, nothing can be entered, and CPU usage goes through the roof.

    I've ran virus scans with AVG, Avast and NOD32, used S&D & ccleaner to remove all the rubbish and still no joy.

    Ideas on a post card please. :)

    Thanks for your time.

    Lutzie

    PS: If I run the ping from Windows Explorer in system32 it merely flashes onscreen briefly. If I run it from cmd.exe it runs, but I can't ping my router address.
     
  14. ikemacauley

    ikemacauley

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have a solution to your problem.Just do the following and you will be fine.
    Right click on My computer....go to Properties....and then click on the advance tab.
    Next to that, click on Environment Variables and scroll to Path but if there is none please just create a new one and write Path under variable name and paste this: %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem under variable value and click on ok.Otherwise Select Path and click on Edit and paste the same.finish
    call me if other problems persist on 00233244959682
     
  15. ikemacauley

    ikemacauley

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Who can help me setup mrtg running on windows xp ?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/420462