Solved: Please help me with system restore...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

leanne1984

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
74
It's not working, the only thing wrong with my PC nowadays! This is what happens when I load it (see image). I can't start the service VSC manually as it says access denied. Is it a registry problem? Also some other services say access denied and file not found, but they're nothing to do with restore, that's why I think it could be a registry issue. What is it supposed to say under the VSC service reg key? I've searched the net but seems people have only had remotely similar issues with XP and VSC is different in that system. If anyone can help...I'll be grateful! I'm normally pretty good at sorting out PC stuff.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
38
I think you have to log in as the 'Administrator', like root one, every pc has one, in XP, cause when you log in after pressing F8 it'll give you the login option as 'Guest', 'Administrator', and '*Insert your account name here*..

I'd suggest doing a 32bit recovery or 64bit recovery *One of the options in repair your computer thing*, and do a complete factory recovery, but back up everything you want on a disk first...
 

leanne1984

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
74
Can't do any form of recovery, as Volume Shadow Copy doesn't work and I don't fancy re-installing the whole thing. I know how to do that. I would like to fix it without having to result in this. I am also logged in as Administrator and it did used to work. I also done nothing to make it stop working.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
38
Right click [My Computer] [Properties] then click on System Restore tab.
Put a check in the box for Disable Restore on all drives.
Click apply, then Reboot your PC.
After the system reboots, navigate to the System Restore tab and turn it back on. Click apply.
Navigate to [System Tools] [Restore...] and choose [Create a Restore Point]
Provide a name for the new restore point.
Try and restore the new point just created. It should work properly.

http://www.lockergnome.com/nexus/bl...tore-your-system-to-a-previous-working-state/
 

leanne1984

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
74
Sithtradmus It's all blanked out... and this error comes up. It's the VSC I need to fix:

 

leanne1984

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2007
Messages
74
Guess the thing I had to do was to re-install Vista. Easy to do as I have all my music and stuff on an external harddrive. Everything's running smoothly now. And none of the Acers own stuff is on, nor any 30 day trial version of Norton. And no fancy memory hogging but unecessary HD Audio managers. I've noticed one thing though: the lastest version of my graphics driver is unstable when playing games and gives a low performance score so I've had to roll back. Otherwise so far so good (even have the same wallpaper/skin going).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top