1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Port Fowarding Help.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Guillermojm, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    hello there i setup my router to foward a port and it worked fine for about two months all of a sudden it stopped working i went to a site to see if it was being fowarded and nothing

    i also went to portfoward.com followed the instructions and nothing happened still not working any ideas?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Not without a lot more information.

    Please supply the following info.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.

    Did you check the configuration pages of the router to see if the port forwarding is still established? How about giving us this:

    A screen shot of the port forwarding configuration in the router.

    The output of IPCONFIG /ALL at a command prompt.
     
  3. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    i knew you would make me work John!!

    ISP = Comcast,US

    Router is Linksys WRT54G Firmware ver 1.02.0

    The broadband one is Scientific Atlanta model number DCP2100R

    The router is setup for both wireless and wierd connections the port i wish to forward is to a wireless laptop

    Nic is Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG

    Laptop is a HP PAV dv4000

    Windows Vista 32 all updates installed

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Conn
    ection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-00-39-F0-A4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 27, 2007 3:00:10 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 02, 2007 5:49:14 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.74.162
    68.87.68.162
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E4-DF-36-85
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.103%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.74.162
    68.87.68.162
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{723AC49B-2DA8-467C-B318-6EE95FB40
    0C8}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    [​IMG]



    if you need more information let me know...
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Note that you have ports forwarded to two different IP addresses. The computer you posted is 192.168.1.103, so the ports that appear to be forwarded are 38695 and 48500, is that correct? You appear to have another computer at 192.168.1.101 that has other ports forwarded. Also, Comcast blocks port 80 in some locations so that computer may have a problem with that port.

    If all of the previous information is correct, you may need to reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure. Sometimes they get confused and the internal operation doesn't match the displayed parameters.
     
  5. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    yea two diffrent comps i will try to reset it now and keep you posted
     
  6. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    ok i reset the router to factory default....

    i input all the settings i only fwd one port and sadly it didnt work the port still doesnt seem to be forwarded

    no idea whats going on....
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Are you sure a firewall on the computer in question isn't blocking the port? Remember, you need to forward that port through any software firewall as well.
     
  8. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    well i had the firewall off...... i turned it on added the port and nothing does it need to be TCP or UDP?
     
  9. Guillermojm

    Guillermojm Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    ok scratch that i just rechecked it made it TCP and its working!!!!!

    thank you john like always you have helped me greatly!
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Glad you got it going. :)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590681

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice