Solved: Port Fowarding Help.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
hello there i setup my router to foward a port and it worked fine for about two months all of a sudden it stopped working i went to a site to see if it was being fowarded and nothing

i also went to portfoward.com followed the instructions and nothing happened still not working any ideas?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Not without a lot more information.

Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.

Did you check the configuration pages of the router to see if the port forwarding is still established? How about giving us this:

A screen shot of the port forwarding configuration in the router.

The output of IPCONFIG /ALL at a command prompt.
 

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
i knew you would make me work John!!

ISP = Comcast,US

Router is Linksys WRT54G Firmware ver 1.02.0

The broadband one is Scientific Atlanta model number DCP2100R

The router is setup for both wireless and wierd connections the port i wish to forward is to a wireless laptop

Nic is Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG

Laptop is a HP PAV dv4000

Windows Vista 32 all updates installed

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Conn
ection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-00-39-F0-A4
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 27, 2007 3:00:10 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 02, 2007 5:49:14 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.74.162
68.87.68.162
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E4-DF-36-85
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.103%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.74.162
68.87.68.162
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{723AC49B-2DA8-467C-B318-6EE95FB40
0C8}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes





if you need more information let me know...
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Note that you have ports forwarded to two different IP addresses. The computer you posted is 192.168.1.103, so the ports that appear to be forwarded are 38695 and 48500, is that correct? You appear to have another computer at 192.168.1.101 that has other ports forwarded. Also, Comcast blocks port 80 in some locations so that computer may have a problem with that port.

If all of the previous information is correct, you may need to reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure. Sometimes they get confused and the internal operation doesn't match the displayed parameters.
 

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
yea two diffrent comps i will try to reset it now and keep you posted
 

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
ok i reset the router to factory default....

i input all the settings i only fwd one port and sadly it didnt work the port still doesnt seem to be forwarded

no idea whats going on....
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Are you sure a firewall on the computer in question isn't blocking the port? Remember, you need to forward that port through any software firewall as well.
 

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
well i had the firewall off...... i turned it on added the port and nothing does it need to be TCP or UDP?
 

Guillermojm

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
122
ok scratch that i just rechecked it made it TCP and its working!!!!!

thank you john like always you have helped me greatly!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top