1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Power Supply Tester recommendations

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Iwata, Jul 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Iwata

    Iwata Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    I've searched the forum a bit and I saw aot of debat over the Antec 12v and the FCPU power supply tester. I would like to know if yall have any other Ideals besides these two?

    The problem I'm having is with an aspire(550 watt I think) psu that came wiith my case. The computer would only stay on for a few minutes then shutdown. I know i should've replace it, but I was n00b at the time. I have another one around the house that is is a rosewell :/
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    I presently have 3 PSU testers but I just purchased the Frozen PSU tester since it had some test ports I current ones don't have such as SATA and PCI-E.

    Even though it's a couple of dollars more I would recommend buying the one with the most test ports in case you need them in the future.
     
  3. Iwata

    Iwata Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Two questions about the frozencpu one. Does it put a decent load on the PSU and would you recommend I keep things attached the power supply whle testing. Thanks alot for replying. I almost brought the antec today :/
     
  4. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    I don't know of any other than the Antec that put a load on the PSU except in this article it states the PowMax also puts a 25 watt load on the PSU.

    http://www.virtual-hideout.net/articles/psu_tester_shootout/index.shtml

    I just mainly used the plug in testers because it's quicker and easier to get a "basic" test than fooling with multimeter probes. Of course I still keep my multimeter handy to verify voltages on the various leads if necessary.

    Ideally, I would like a tester that would put a "load" on each circuit tested, but at this time I don't know of any.
     
  5. DCM1519

    DCM1519

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,141
    PC Power and Cooling has one for $10. They are easy to reach on the phone too and will answer any questions that you might have. It is also discussed on their web site.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/484341

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice