1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Power Supply Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by afcwhizzer, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. afcwhizzer

afcwhizzer Thread Starter

Hello

OK I want to upgrade my graphics, most games I'm trying to play pass the min req's but fail the recomended, due to my graphics card (I don't have one!....ah) I do hane NVidia 6150 onbaord has been fine up till now but I want to play more games, and it don't cut the cheez. aside from a possible near future upgrade of memory and procesor, my sites are first set on my graphics card.........

A complete newby to this sort of thing me, been tampering with software for a few years now, but hardware is something you get when you buy a computor. BUT NOT ANYMORE!!

so after trawling the forums and the online shops, opened up my comp five times (whew it's dusty in there), finallly tracked down my PCI-E 16x, found a a few cards look like they could be compatible, want something good but not to fancy, pixel shader....check, ant aliasing (wtf is that?)...check anyway the games like it. atleast 512MB...check.

WOOHOO!!!! PNY GeForce 8800 GT nice not to expensive (just under £100)
    not to fancy, but better than I have.

OK it can't work surely, whats the min system requirements.

processer , fine
    interface , fine I think
    Ram , ok
    hard disc, DVD, VGA ok
    400W system power supply.....hmm hold on....side off again....hmmm....oh crap!!
    My Compaq Presario SR2019UK only has 300Wmax or so it would appear.

so before I upgrade to this card I need a new power supply.

but I need some help

this is where I think TECH SUPPORT GUY..... HELP ... LOL

So finally he gets to the point... or the burning question.