Solved: Powerdown Problem--Stumped!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
I'm running XP Pro and have a powerdown delay that's driving me nuts. When I shutdown (or restart), the system charges right through Windows shutdown--saves my settings and goes through "Windows is shutting down" at great speed, then hangs on the blue screen of death for nearly a minute before actually shutting the computer down. I've read a number of FAQs, tried a number of fixes (shutdown.exe, for example) but still my PC doesn't want to throw in the towel.

Can anyone help? :(
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
Can you say a little about your system? Processor type and speed, RAM type size and speed, drive size and speed, NTFS or FAT32, partitioned, converted (from FAT32 to NTFS) cluster size (should be 4096 bytes in each allocation unit)(run: chkdsk , in a command window to find out).

Are you getting a lot of fragmentation? If you are using NTFS then trial Diskeeper 9 Professional's in built Frag-Shield program for 30 days to check the size of your systems Master File Tables and see if that is causing any problem.

If there is anything wrong with the MFTs, cluster size, or if your MFTs and paging file are fragmented it can cause all manner of system problems.

Then we can eliminate the basic peformance problems.
 

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
Hi Ram Page

Well, I knew there was a chance someone was going to ask some hard questions :eek:

I'm not at the PC right now--I'll have a look when I get home. Can you suggest a point of departure for finding the answers to your tougher ones?

Thanks
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
LOL :D

1. Right-click My Computer, open the Properties box and take a look at all the info on the General Tab.

2. Open My Computer fully and take a look at the drive size. (I have an 80Gb drive, and that is the Decimal size.)

3. Start, All Programs, Administrative Tools, Computer Management, click on Disk Management and take a look at the drive info. It will show NTFS or FAT32 and the drive condition. (Not always accurate.)

4. Start, Run, type: cmd , press Enter. At the prompt type: chkdsk , (don't add a switch parameter such as /f) and look for:

"4096 bytes in each allocation unit" showing on the screen.

5. Open defrag and run ANALYSE to see if there is a lot of red showing in the file structure.

Download Diskeeper 9 Professional (Not the Home version) install, RE-BOOT!, and then run Diskeeper to make the comparison with your usual defrag.

In Diskeeper go into "Change your Settings", "Configure MFT/Paging file" and follow the procedure for padding the MFT(s) if it says you need to. Make a note of before and after size(s) and post them here, if you will.

When this step is complete, run Diskeeper from Windows first of all, and then go into "Set a bootime defragmentation" check all the square boxes, then click Apply, and OK. Answer OK to any messages, close all open windows and re-boot.

Sit back and watch the screen.

Now you will be able to see if there is any performance improvement.

If all is well, then well and good, :) if not, then we can look at everything else. :(
 

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
Ram Page

Thanks for the tuition/patience--I'll step through your checklist when I get home tonight and cross the ol' fingers. (y)
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
:)

I'll look for your post later on this evening.

When you have done all that, post back, and then we'll see if you should run a Hi-Jack This scan and post the log to the Security Forum.
 

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
Hi Ram-Page

1. Right-click My Computer, open the Properties box and take a look at all the info on the General Tab. Intel Pentium R 1600MHz; 589 MHz (Not sure what that is?) and 512MB RAM

2. Open My Computer fully and take a look at the drive size. (I have an 80Gb drive, and that is the Decimal size.) 40 GB

3. Start, All Programs, Administrative Tools, Computer Management, click on Disk Management and take a look at the drive info. It will show NTFS or FAT32 and the drive condition. (Not always accurate.) FAT 47MB; NTFS 37.21GB “Healthy System”

4. Start, Run, type: cmd , press Enter. At the prompt type: chkdsk , (don't add a switch parameter such as /f) and look for:

"4096 bytes in each allocation unit" showing on the screen. Yes
5. Open defrag and run ANALYSE to see if there is a lot of red showing in the file structure. Quite a bit—says I should defrag.

Download Diskeeper 9 Professional (Not the Home version) install, RE-BOOT!, and then run Diskeeper to make the comparison with your usual defrag. :mad: I’ve had no luck with this at all. I’ve downloaded and attempted to install the software, but after I accept conditions and the install begins, I get an “error 1720—there is a problem with the install package.” I’ve re-booted, deleted the .exe, re-downloaded and tried to re-install—all with the same results.I’m not sure where to go with this now—I defragged with the XP program—looked like a pretty dramatic improvement to me, but powerdown still takes over a minute. Any ideas on the diskeeper 9 Pro problem?

In Diskeeper go into "Change your Settings", "Configure MFT/Paging file" and follow the procedure for padding the MFT(s) if it says you need to. Make a note of before and after size(s) and post them here, if you will. Can't get there from here--see above

When this step is complete, run Diskeeper from Windows first of all, and then go into "Set a bootime defragmentation" check all the square boxes, then click Apply, and OK. Answer OK to any messages, close all open windows and re-boot.

Sit back and watch the screen.

Now you will be able to see if there is any performance improvement.

If all is well, then well and good, if not, then we can look at everything else.
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
Sounds like you got a bad download of Diskeeper. I would just download again some other day.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Might want to search Microsoft's KB articles for this problem.

Also what service pack do you have. Kinda relevant. A quick search pulled up:
Windows stops responding during Windows XP shut down
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=307274

I didn't see anything that came up related to Windows XP Shutdown problems being related to the MFT or Pagefile.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Warthog:

Let's see what you have running on this beast.

A badly fragmented disk, if if comes into play, should be causing you slowdowns everywhere, not just at shutdown.
XP could be lingering trying to shutdown one of your running apps or services.

Download, install and run HiJackThis

Copy/paste the log that it creates, back here for review.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
WhitPhil,

It's amazing how much a Defrag and this MFT Padding is being used as the cause of just about everything lately. If this was so common, there should have been tons of prior posts that this ever solved so many diverse problems. Just can't find that many. I mean it's a good idea, but let's not lose sight of all the other, far more likely causes for all these issues.
 

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
Ram-Page, Bob, & WhitPhil

Thanks for your responses. (y) (y) (y)
Ram-Page--same result with Diskeeper this morning--I've waved the white flag at Executive.com. Should hear from them shortly, I hope.

Bob--I have SP2 and I've seen the article you linked--do you recommend I run the update (although I should already have it)? If so, the full update or just the "restarting Windows XP" bit in the article?

WhitPhil--here's the log:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 07:36:12, on 12/02/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVGUARD.EXE
C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVWUPSRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE Professional\Ad-Watch.exe
C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVGNT.EXE
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Tuneup utilities\MemOptimizer.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
c:\progra~1\intern~1\iexplore.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\WINWORD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~1\FIREFOX.EXE
C:\Smokey\Downloads\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://minisearch.startnow.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Steve's Explorer
R3 - URLSearchHook: HyperSearchHook - {B3A8959E-08CD-4A99-9711-8708A663C9B2} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Hyperbar\HyperbarSS3.dll
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {03D1E4B7-EBEA-BD29-6C5D-DAC2AEBAF435} - C:\DOCUME~1\Steve\APPLIC~1\EQCDRO~1\PeakExit.exe
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: URLLink Class - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E} - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet6_38.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - (no file)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AWMON] "C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE Professional\Ad-Watch.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Ad-Aware] "C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE Professional\Ad-Aware.exe" +c
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVGCtrl] "C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVGNT.EXE" /min
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [TuneUp MemOptimizer] "C:\Program Files\Tuneup utilities\MemOptimizer.exe" autostart
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
O16 - DPF: {01FE8D0A-51AD-459B-B62B-85E135128B32} (DD_v4.DDv4) - http://www.drivershq.com/DD_v4.CAB
O16 - DPF: {08BEF711-06DA-48B2-9534-802ECAA2E4F9} (PlxInstall Class) - https://www.plaxo.com/down/release/PlaxoInstall.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {14A3221B-1678-1982-A355-7263B1281987} - ms-its:mhtml:file://C:\foo.mht!http://82.179.166.130/e9xr2.chm::/file.exe
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/yinst/yinst_current.cab
O16 - DPF: {4951C2D6-B8A8-48F4-8BFB-E67F2F3BBA0E} (FrontdoorMN Profile Manager Class) - https://www.accountstore.co.uk/moneynet/frontdoorMN.cab
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.c...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1101560360322
O23 - Service: AntiVir Service - H+BEDV Datentechnik GmbH - C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVGUARD.EXE
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - Unknown - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: AntiVir Update - H+BEDV Datentechnik GmbH, Germany - C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\AVWUPSRV.EXE
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: TuneUp WinStyler Theme Service - TuneUp Software GmbH - C:\Program Files\Tuneup utilities\WinStylerThemeSvc.exe
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
Well, well, well, you have the dreaded lurgy: O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net

Imagine that. Hey! Here's a poor bloke with Spyware on his computer! Who would ever have dreamt of it?

Still it is really interesting as the computer really doesn't need spyware on it as it won't work very well.

I wonder what the legislators are doing about all of the geeks who produce this rubbish ... on their "computers".

Now I've heard of computers being used by people like naval architects but now they are used by pornographers and cheap criminals as well.

Maybe we shoud ask them how to repair "our" computer for "us"?

My, My, My, new.dot net eh? Produced by new.world geek at gook.com

Better get an "expert" to use their "expertise" on this little social problem.

So remember, if you need to know about brothels as an expert, such as a pimp.

If you need to know about computers ask a geek.

Now there is a new.dot net removal tool someplace on this planet.

Who will be so good as to help this young person with a nice tool?

Very revealing, as in revelations.

Hey now looky here http://forums.techguy.org/f54-s.html

Good luck in life people.

Don't worry, be happy. :)

When you have eliminated the impossible you are left with the obvious, somebody is trying to sabotage the planet!

:eek:
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
You need to download a good Spyware and Trojan Removal program.

Spybot Search and Destroy:
http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=spybotsda

SpySweeper:
http://www.webroot.com/wb/products/spysweeper/index.php
This will also protect your home page from being hijacked.

Ad-Aware:
http://www.lavasoft.de/

With any of the above three programs, just like with Anti-Virus software, should have the latest updates installed before doing a scan.

CWShredder:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads/tools/CWShredder.exe

KazaaBeGone
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/kazaabegone.zip

Programs that can help prevent getting infected:

Spyware Blaster
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

Spyware Guard
http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html
 

Warthog1

Steve
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
118
Ram-Page--Not quite sure I understand all that :confused:

Bob--I already run both Ad-Aware and Spy-Bot. Downloading SpyWare Blaster as we speak. Thanks for your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top