1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Powered Down PC powers up after 15 mins?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kctom, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kctom

    kctom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    I have a pc that was configured for network use at work. Originally it was Windows NT, now it's XP. I use it as a standalone at home. Whenever I perform a shutdown, it will stay off for a few minutes (approx 10-15) then automatically it will power on and start booting up.

    It's the weirdest thing. I shut it down, the power light goes off, then a few minutes later I'm watching TV or something and it turns back on. Any ideas?
     
  2. marklab

    marklab

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Are you sure it is shutting down all of the way?

    You may have some settings in the bios that allow the computer to turn if certian events happen.

    Try turning off all such options. Like Wake on modem ring. Or Wake on lan. This may fix your problem.
     
  3. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Go to http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/ :

    Download StartupList 1.51

    After unzipping the file, run it. You will see a text file displayed. Copy/paste the file directly to a reply. To copy/paste, when the file is open, click Edit>Select All > Edit > Copy and then right click on a reply window here and select "paste".
     
  4. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    [tsg=welcome][/tsg]

    Hi There!

    What you have is something set for a "Wake Event"

    Go into the system BIOS and check the power and boot settings.

    ake sure that the following are set to OFF or DISABLED:

    Wake on Ring-modem ring...like if the phone rings
    Wake on LAN-if it recieved a network wake request
    Wake on PME-If there's any Power Management Event

    after you set those, test it and see if that fixes is and I'll bet you won'y have those mysterious awakenings!


    Good Luck!

    ST
     
  5. kctom

    kctom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    StartupList report, 02/18/2003, 8:02:17 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\Robert\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\PackethSvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
    C:\Program Files\Fidelity\Security Configuration\fconfsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsgSys.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\LockWS.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\Smtray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Compaq\Compaq EAB Software\cpqek.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 8.0\aoltray.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 8.0\aol.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 8.0\waol.exe
    C:\Robert\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
    America Online 8.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 8.0\aoltray.exe
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office XP\Office10\OSA.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    HKCU = C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /C Start "HKCU Updates" /MIN "C:\Program Files\current profile updates\hkcu.exe"
    vptray = C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    LockWS = LockWS.exe
    CheckRights = C:\Program Files\Fidelity\Security Configuration\chkrights.exe
    SystemVBS = C:\WINDOWS\System.VBS
    Smapp = C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\Smtray.exe
    cpqek = C:\Program Files\Compaq\Compaq EAB Software\cpqek.exe
    EM_EXEC = C:\PROGRA~1\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    RealTray = C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 3,576 bytes
    Report generated in 0.109 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. kctom

    kctom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Hi SexyTech and Marklab,

    Where would I find the system BIOS location? Is it in control panel, System?
     
  7. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    To enter the BIOS, you must perform this at the PRE BOOT of Windows. Some computers will tell you while they are booting for example: Press DEL to enter setup. Sometimes it's F10. Watch your computer booting and look for the line that tells you what to enter. Most of the time it's the DEL (Delete Key). Once in, you can navigate through the different menus with the arrow keys and the ESC key. Something in your BIOS is set to wake the computer, more likely "Wake on LAN" under the Power Management Menu.
     
  8. kctom

    kctom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks everyone. The Power section in BIOS was set to "Sleep/wake" mode instead of "on/off" mode.
     
  9. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Glad to hear you resolved your issue! Your welcome. :D
     
  10. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    wow, glad you found that, was about to suggest a clove of garlic over the monitor or a wooden stake thru the hard drive, haha
    Have a great day.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119563

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice