1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: powrprof.dll file cannot start

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by shoeby2, Sep 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Whenever I start my computer I get the following message:

    "The POWRPROF.DLL file cannot start. Check the file to determine the problem."

    Any suggestions for getting rid of this?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
  3. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    I'm actually running Windows ME - you think I can use the same fix?
     
  4. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    I think you can try. I keep getting hits to the same thing for ME too
     
  5. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    TW,

    Thanks for the link - I went to the site and extracted the POWRPROF.DLL file but I still keep getting the error message at startup. This message comes up twice:

    "Error loading POWRPROF.DLL A dynamic link library (DLL) initialization routine failed."

    This is then followed by an error starting program message that says:

    "The POWRPROF.DLL file cannot start. Check the file to determine the problem."

    I'm not sure what to try next - any suggestions?

    Thanks again for your help,
    Brian
     
  6. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Did you go to start, run type msconfig
    Hit ok
    Click on the startup tab
    Make sure there are check marks next to one or two instances of Loadpowerprofile you see
    then hit apply and ok
    reboot see if that resolves it

    [​IMG]
     
  7. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Just looked at the startup and both loadpowerprofiles are checked and active.
     
  8. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Hi shoeby2,
    Have you installed any new software or hardware before this error started happening?
    Have you ran your antivirus??
    Just trying to cover the basics.
     
  9. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    TW,

    This error started to show up after I ran Norton Systemworks, the Registry Tracker I believe and it did a clean-up of sorts. I've extracted the dll file from both the C drive and also from my Windows ME disk, but I still get the same errors.

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
  10. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    when you say extracted from C: drive did you rename the file to:
    POWRPROF.old
    then put in the new file in the same place. reboot

    [​IMG]
     
  11. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    I didn't rename to .old so I just did, extracted again, rebooted but I'm still getting the error.
     
  12. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Can you open the Power management in control Panel?
    Run SYC.exe from the start, run dialog box. See if any other files are corrupt.
    If not follow the instructions for the first file but use this one instead:
    Powercfg.cpl
     
  13. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    I'm unable to open SYC.exe so I'll try your other suggestion. Do I rename the POWRPROF.dll to old, then extract the Powercfg.cpl file to the system folder?
     
  14. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    its SFC.exe sorry
    No try the SFC first to find if that file is corrupt. Can you open the power Management applet in Control Panel??
    Lets see what sfc tells you.
     
  15. shoeby2

    shoeby2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    SFC.exe won't work - says Windows cannot find 'SFC.exe'
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165124

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice