1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Problem driver LAN connection adapter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mfthopesch, Dec 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Frustrated...

    Realtek 8101 network card on Windows 7. Was working properly till yesterday. No internet connection possible now, ipconfig returns empty result. Cable is plugged in, replaced cabel, internet over Wifi is working. Deinstalled driver and rebooted, no result.

    Install new driver? How to? Downloaded new driver from Realtek, does not install.

    Please help,

    Thanks,

    Markus
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Tried safe mode, same result.

    Have attached .jpg file of ipconfig. Says media not connected, but lights at the back blinking. Changed network cable. TV on same router as are a couple of other computers over wifi. All working

    Using MSE since 5 years. Have made no other changes before LAN stopped working, tried system restore. All to no avail.

    Thanks,

    Markus
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so the LAN is not showing there
    can we see a device manager shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  5. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Hi etaf,

    Please find attached, already tried to delete and reboot...no change.

    thanks,

    Markus
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    a couple of things that I have seen re these symptoms - a firewall - particularly , avg and webroot

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    also try
    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    I would goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver
     
  7. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Dear etaf,

    Used Microsoft Security Essentials and AVG. Switched both off and did the same with windows firewall, uninstalled driver and rebooted.

    Still not acess.

    Thanks,

    Markus
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    remove AVG,

    FYI - you never want to have two antivirus on the PC at the same time running in the background - effectively leaves you unprotected


    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  9. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks,

    Removed, still not working,

    Markus
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Two additional questions ... does the ethernet (LAN) connection show in Network Connections and is it enabled?
     
  12. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Hi etaf

    Did as proposed. Please find results below. No message at reboot. Still can't go online.

    Burn machines or sell it for 3.99?

    Thanks for not giving up

    Markus

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Reseting Route, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  13. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Terrynet. Yes it does. But in the small taskbar the connection is crossed out in red
    Markus
     
  14. mfthopesch

    mfthopesch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Terrynet. Yes it does. But in the small taskbar the connection is crossed out in red
    Markus
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't understand what "the small taskbar" is. Maybe a screen shot?

    In Network Connections, since you've tried about everything else, right click on the ethernet and select 'disable.' Then right click again and select 'enable.'
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice