1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Problem playing movies

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by BigRed, Jul 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BigRed

BigRed Thread Starter

My neighbor put some movies on discs for me to play. Nothing happens. I have a Hewlett Packard Pavilion that is about 5 years old. Does any one know if this computer simply won't play them, or what could be wrong? I have Windows 98. I have no trouble playing a music CD and no problem with the discs that came with my Family Tree Maker program. I am very new to computers and know little about them. Just muddling along, here.
    BigRed

2. brendandonhu

brendandonhu

The movies are probably on DVD or VCD discs. They require special drives to play them. If you have a standalone DVD player, try playing the movies in it.

3. BigRed

BigRed Thread Starter

Thanks. I don't have a DVD player, but I will get back with him and see what the disc is.

4. BigRed

BigRed Thread Starter

He said it is a plain CDR disc, and he recorded the movies as DATA. He used Nero software. He put the AVI files on it so I could watch them on Windows Media Player. He also put a couple of exe files on it. And when he looks at the disc on his computer the icons show up as these basic files. ( I am quoting him, as I don't really understand all this.)
    BigRed

5. MkO

MkO

Most .avi movies burned onto CDR's these days are in a format known as DivX.
    You'll need the software (codec) in order to play the movies in Media player. Go to www.divx.com and get it free. latest V. is 5.0*