1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Problem Updating windows

Discussion in 'General Security' started by tbeatham, Mar 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    I am trying to update my system because of a couple of vulnerablities detected by trend micro's house call but when I access the microsoft site and try to update I get the following error number 0x80072EE7.
    Have looked at the Hosts file as described in the help but cannot see anything that seems to be casuing the problem. I am running XP Home and with internet explorer and have zone alarm as my firewall.
    Please can someone help me as I getting quite frustrated about this now.
    Many Thanks
    Tim
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    Hello Tim.

    What is your experience level?

    Which version of XP Home?

    When did the problem begin?
    Can you associate the onset of the problem to the addition or removal of hardware or software, to include an update to Windows or your antivirus program? Have you run a registry cleaner recently? I am NOT suggesting that you run a reg cleaner.

    How far in the update process can you get?

    Send a screen shot of the page at which you receive the error message.

    How to create a screen shot.
    Creating a screen shot requires:
    1. a keyboard with a key labeled "Print Screen". This may be abbreviated "PrtScn", "PrntScn", or some other variation. It is usually to the right of the F12 key
    2. a destination program. Microsoft WordPad, and Paint, which are built into Windows 95 and beyond, as well as Microsoft Word, not a part of Windows will suffice. My favorite is Paint, because it provides the greatest versatility. Paint saves images, by default, as bitmap files [ .bmp ], which are very large files, but we will work around that issue. Paint also provides editing features.
    2.a. To open Paint
    left click "start"
    left click "programs" [ or "all programs" ]
    left click "accessories
    Left click "paint"
    3. Press the "PrtScn" [ or similar button ] on your keyboard.
    4. Open the destination program [ see # 2 above ].
    5. Maximize the screen of the destination program.
    6. Left "edit" across the top.
    7. Left click "paste".
    8. Save the file to your "Desktop", "My Documents", or other location of your choice.
    8.a. If using Paint, save it as a .jpg / .jpeg.
    Left click "file"
    Left clicks "save as".
    Near the bottom, where it says "save as type", left click on the down pointing arrow.
    look for jpeg or jpg.
    Left click on jpeg or jpg.
    Left click "ok".

    Come back to this forum & thread.
    Left click the button "go advanced".
    Left click the button "manage attachments".
    Browse to the location of the file.
    After you have found the file, left click the button "upload".
    When finished, left click "close window".
    Left click the button "submit reply".

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/setup/tips/screenshot.mspx

    Have you been through these steps?
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/883821


    RF123
     
  3. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Hi and thanks for the reply - apologies for the delay but I have been on holiday so have just returned and got your post.
    I have been through the steps on the windows site but am a little lost on that score as can't seem to find anything listed on the hosts file that may relate to a fixed IP address.
    The message I am getting appears on the windows update site as soon as it starts to check for the latest version of windows.
    I have attached a copy of the screen shot where the error message appears and also one of the c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc directory as there appears to be more than one hosts file. I have also attached a copy of the hosts file so you can see what I am getting when I open this in notepad.
    My experience level is better then most - all self taught but I am pretty proficient on pc's
    Really appreciate your help with this as I am at a loss as what has caused the problem - I am not sure when I last updated before the problem began but the only hardware I have added recently is a canon printer and an external harddrive. No software.
    Cheers,
    Tim
     

    Attached Files:

  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    Which hosts did you send; hosts / MSN or hosts / non - MSN?

    Send the other.

    Close your browser.
    Set your computer to unhide file extensions.
    Rename hosts / MSN to "hosts_msn" [ sans "" ].

    Open your browser.

    Try to obtain the updates.

    RF123
     
  6. allheart55

    allheart55

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
  7. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    That is 2 votes for 836941!
    :)

    RF123
     
  8. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks for the posts guys, I will give these a go and let you know what happens
     
  9. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    Which hosts did you send; hosts / MSN or hosts / non - MSN?

    Send the other.

    RF123
     
  10. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Here's the Hosts msn file that I have just renamed - and unfortunately this hasn't worked for the updates
     
  11. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    tb:
    ?????

    I don't see the Hosts MSN file mentioned.

    Please work your way through 836941, as previously suggested, twice.

    RF123
     
  12. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Hi and thanks for the reply - not sure what you meant by the hosts msn file not being mentioned but have seen that for some reason the file has not attached - I will upload it again later on this evening.
    I have worked my way through the 836941 instructions and this has not worked either - still getting the same error message I'm afraid.
    I will update with the msn hosts file later as promised and will let you know how I get on with my search for the problem but am getting close to just wiping the machine and starting again.
    Regards,
    Tim
     
  13. Blackmirror

    Blackmirror

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,638
    The 0x80072ee7 error code may occur when the client computer tries to resolve a URL for the Windows Update Web site and cannot find the correct IP address. This error may occur if the Hosts file contains a static IP address.


    Resolution Suggestion One:

    # To resolve this error, examine the Hosts file. (This file may also be named Hosts.sam.) Make sure that the file does not list any static IP entries for the Windows Update Web site.

    The Hosts file is located in the C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc folder. To view the Hosts file, you may have to associate the file with Notepad. To do this, follow these steps:

    1. Right-click the Hosts file.

    2. Click Open With, and then select Notepad from the list of programs.

    If the Hosts file contains a static IP address that is associated with Windows Update, comment the entry by adding the # sign at the beginning of the entry. (NB - You can also delete the whole line and save changes to the Hosts file.)

    Note Programs, such as Web accelerators, DNS accelerators, DNS caching utilities, and Spyblockers, can add static IP entries for the Windows Update Web site to your Hosts file. This scenario can cause Windows Update to fail.

    Also

    check your dns settings..

    in network connections, right click the connection, go to properties

    select internet protocol (tcp/ip) and click properties.

    Check that DNS is on automatic, not fixed!
     
  14. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    Blackmirror:
    I looked at the OP's hosts file, 1 of them at least, as noted in the screen shot & attachment to #3 of this post. I do not see a fixed IP address.

    The screen shot indicates that there are 2 hosts files in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc

    RF123
     
  15. tbeatham

    tbeatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Well guys, I ran the 836941 fix and nothing but when I shut down the pc and then came back to it later that day it wouldn't boot at all anymore. Just kept cycling and through the windows screen and then powering down. Have had to do a full system refresh now to get it to work so have lost everything and reverted back to original factory shipped settings. Not too happy about losing everything but then again I giess I should have backed up more often. Ah well at least I can update windows now.
    Thanks for all the advice and tips but I'd watch running that guided tour thingy as that seemed to screw up my puter.
    Laters,
    Tim
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/688868