Solved: Problem with joining to Windows Server 2012 Active Directory.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
How to I join Windows Server 2012 Active Diretory without putting manually Windows Server 2012:s ip adress at Preferred DNS server at the local computer? Can someone help me?
 

Attachments

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,159
howdy and welcome. What are you trying to do? that screenshot is just your network properties.
 

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
I a'm trying to join my desktop computer to Active Directory but doing so i'm force to manually typing the Windows Server 2012's (Active directory) ip-adress. I wan't it to work automatically without typing manually the ip-adress. How do I get it done?
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,159
just enter the domain name that you want to join at the computer name tab of sysdm.cpl.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Is the DNS address that you have to put in different then the DNS address that the computer picks up via DHCP? Is DNS correctly configured on the network? Usually this happens if DNS is not correctly configured. Do you have multiple DNS servers?
 

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
No I have just one DNS Server.
Below you can see my Network configuration with the commando ipconfig /all
DNS IP adress I put manually is 192.168.1.10. Do you need some screenshots or log files from
the DNS server which explain more why this problem exists?

Code:
Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TEST-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : X.local
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : X.local
                                       lan

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : lan
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EC-A8-6B-F5-5E-86
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b517:c8e5:c599:a351%3(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.73(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 March 2015 15:27:37
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 02 March 2015 20:27:39
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 65841259
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-82-A2-12-EC-A8-6B-F5-5E-86
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : lan
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
So both the DHCP assigned and the one you are manually entering are the same but it only works if you enter it manually? That doesn't make sense. Is the screen shot above with the manually entered DNS or with everything set to Auto?

Does this happen with every computer or just one? Has it ever worked correctly? Do all other computers show the same IPCONFIG results?

Was this computer on another network in the past? Have you tried doing a IPCONFIG /FLUSHDNS before attempting to join the domain?

Looking at your results, your domains are called X and lan? Is that correct? Is this a test environment, lab, live environment, or what? Do you have multiple domains running?
 

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
This is only a test environment. I understand quite a lot of network and active directory but this DNS thing I don't understand that very well. All other computers as well demands that the DNS ip adress is manually typed and all show the same ipconfig results.

All computers have newer been joined to another domain.
I have only one domain which nane is X.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Check the DNS setup on the server. Make sure you have both a Forward and Reverse zones and that they are configured correctly. You seem to have a secondary DNS suffix of LAN, is that showing in DNS or anywhere else on the server? I think you need to remove that. Make sure that isn't set in the TCP/IP Advanced settings of either the workstation, or the server for that matter don't have any DNS Suffixes entered in manually.

Also do a NSLOOKUP on the server name on both the workstation and server. Then also do a DCDIAG /TEST:DNS on the server. (thats : DNS without the sapce instead of smiley face)

Also, to confirm, you can ping the server by name and by IP? And the computers will join successfully if you enter the DNS address manually?
 

Attachments

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Also, when trying to join the domain, are you entering the domain as X or X.local?

You should also check all the Event Logs on the server.
 

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
With commando nslookup DOMAIN-PC I got this message.


C:\Windows\System32>NSLOOKUP DOMAIN-PC
Server: localhost
Address: ::1

Name: DOMAIN-PC.X.local
Address: 192.168.1.10

C:\Windows\System32>

With commando DCDIAG /test:dns I got this message

C:\Windows\System32> DCDIAG /test:dns
Directory Server Diagnosis
Performing initial setup:
Trying to find home server...
Home Server = DOMAIN-PC
* Identified AD Forest.
Done gathering initial info.

Doing initial required tests
Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\DOMAIN-PC
Starting test: Connectivity
......................... DOMAIN-PC passed test Connectivity

Doing primary tests
Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\DOMAIN-PC
Starting test: DNS
DNS Tests are running and not hung. Please wait a few minutes...
......................... DOMAIN-PC passed test DNS

Running partition tests on : ForestDnsZones
Running partition tests on : DomainDnsZones
Running partition tests on : Schema
Running partition tests on : Configuration
Running partition tests on : X
Running enterprise tests on : X.local
Starting test: DNS
.........................X.local passed test DNS

C:\Windows\System32>

I tried both X and X.local but both demand manually typed DNS server IP.


I can ping succesfully both the server's ip and hostname. If I put DNS servers ip adress manually then
all computers join succesfully to Active Directory. I haven't put the DNS Server ip either the workstation, or the server TCP/IP Advanced settings. I didn't find any errors or warnings at the event logs.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I'm still wondering where the:

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : X.local
lan

Is coming from.
 

Ken76

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
12
Now it seems to be working fine. For moment I don't know how I got it to work. But I will post the answer when I have figured it.


I run the ipconfig /all again and it shows.
Code:
Windows IP Configuration
   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TEST-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : X.local
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : X.local
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : X.local
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EC-A8-6B-F5-5E-86
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b517:c8e5:c599:a351%3(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : tiistaina 3. maaliskuuta 2015 23.16.40
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : tiistaina 10. maaliskuuta 2015 23.16.41
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 65841259
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-82-A2-12-EC-A8-6B-F5-5E-86
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.EKHOLM.local:
   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : X.local
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\>
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top