Solved: problem with monitor display

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

blitzkreig

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
824
ok so here goes
i have a pc at home running windows 7...the problem is when the pc is booted things show up on monitor for a few seconds and in a flash everything goes blank..cpu is running and even the monitor is, because i think its getting a signal but nothing is showing up on screen. i've tried everything to sort this out and nothing worked out. so i have the need of your help to solve this.
thanks
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,993
i've tried everything to sort this out and nothing worked out.
It would help if you actually told us what you have tried. One person's "everything" may not be another person's "everything" and most of us here do not have psychic powers.

Have you tried running Windows in safe mode to see if you get a stable display?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
1
You might want to check the resolution. If the monitor stops displaying as soon as the boot is done and the regular GUI start and the screen goes black it might just be that the resolution is set to high and the monitor can't display. If you can boot into safe mode and the screen never stops working then set the resolution to a lower quality and see if that fixes it.
 

blitzkreig

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
824
It would help if you actually told us what you have tried. One person's "everything" may not be another person's "everything" and most of us here do not have psychic powers.

Have you tried running Windows in safe mode to see if you get a stable display?
the display blanks out by the time i choose the option to boot in safe mode
i have changed the power supply, hard disk and even changed the OS used xp had the problem, installed windows 7 i have the same problem...could it possibly be an issue with the graphic card.? i use an nvidia geforce 8400 GS 512mb ddr2
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,993
What kind of things show up on the monitor when you first power up? Are they just the monitor's built-in status messages or do you see at least some of the computer's BIOS boot messages?
 

blitzkreig

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
824
okay i have managed to solve the issue, a few cables connecting the video card to the monitor were loose..
thanks for the prompt replies from all of you. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top