1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Problem with router configuration and "ipconfig"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Diego Wolfwood, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    These seem like they may be related, but when i go to "Run" and type in "ipconfig" it closes instantly. Also, when I type in my IP in my browser to go to the router config it loads fine, but clicking anything results in a 404 error, could anyone tell me what's going on?

    *EDIT*

    Forgot to mention, I'm using Windows XP. If any other info would be useful let me know.
     
  2. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    In "Run" type "cmd" then in command prompt (cmd) type "ipconfig", then it won't disappear. A web page should only be returned when typing in your IP if you have a web server setup and forwarded on your LAN. Try typing your default gateway in on an internet browser (shown in ipconfig).
     
  3. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Hmm thank you very much, It slipped my mind I should have entered it through the cmd. After typing the gateway into my browser I got a username/password request, guess I'll have to talk to my landlord about that xD
     
  4. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    Erm, your landlord? You mean either your router manufactorer, or the network administrator? Look in the router's manual, it will say the default credentials in that. Most routers default are "admin" and "admin" for the username and password. Belkin's is "" (blank).
     
  5. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Ah yeah I figured that out not too much later, admin for both password and username worked. Thanks again!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919945

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice