Solved: Problem with thomson tg782t modem router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jordanfuchs

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
Hey guys,

ok so i recently upgraded our modem because the old one was crapping out all the time, it was just old. So we got a new one through telstra, the thomson tg782t and it worked fine. We had 3 laptops, 2 iphones, and an ipod touch all being able to connect, although in the last week or so.. nothing can connect wirelessly? we thought it might just be a faulty or defective modem, since it was only 2 months old it was still under warrenty.so we got it replaced through telstra once again free of charge, the new one came and we had the same problem. Can anyone think of what might be causing this problem?

Thanks in advanced,
Jordan Fuchs
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,269
First Name
Terry
Can you connect with the router's encryption off? If so, try WPA2-PSK TKIP (instead of AES). I'm not suggesting that AES shouldn't work, just trying to collect data.
 

jordanfuchs

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
naah. i cant connect with encryption off, when i turn the encryption off, the little wireless light on the the router actually turns red. im completely stumped, any suggestions you might have ?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,269
First Name
Terry
Try channel 11. (Maybe there is an undetected network or a 2.4 GHz cordless phone.)

when i turn the encryption off, the little wireless light on the the router actually turns red
And the meaning of the red LED is that the wireless is unsecured or something else?
 

jordanfuchs

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
i think i just fixed it. i changed the channel to 11 and my mum and my laptops both conected instantly, im actually posting this through the wifi. Thanks heaps for all your help guys. ill give it a few days before saying its solved, but fingers crossed. Thanks !
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top