Solved: Problems with new motherboard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

oneSorcerer

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
239
I just installed a new motherboard in my system, (I had formatted and installed xp pro already). When it goes to boot I get blue screen that says

"A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. If this is the first time recieving this message, reboot..."

It also gives some things to try, like checking for viruses and configuring hard drive controllers. What should I do?

Any help is most appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Did your hard drive already have XP on it when you put it in with the new motherboard?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Is your ram one stick or two? You might want to try it one stick at a time and see what happens if it is more than one. You could also download microsofts memory tester and run it.

http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp


If this is not an exact replacement motherboard you should be prepared to reinstall windows. That could be an issue also.
 

oneSorcerer

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
239
Yeah, I formatted, reinstalled XP, switched out the mobos.

I'm only using one stick of memory, and I'm more than prepared to reinstall windows.

Thanks for the quick replies
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Run the memory tester. If it passes on one pass on default settings, reinstall windows. Your HDD and windows are expecting to see certain hardware. If it isn't seen it can cause the crash.
 

oneSorcerer

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
239
Thanks again for the response.

But Windows won't boot, I can't download/install/run anything... I get the error right when the Windows logo should pop up.

I'm on my neighbors computer atm.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2003
Messages
1,693
xp doesn't like hardware changes, I think you may have to reformat/reinstall.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
The memory tester doesn't run in windows. It runs from a floppy before anything else boots. If you try installing windows on bad ram it isn't going to work out for you.

Chances are that a reinstall will fix it, but if windows won't install you are back to wondering if the memory is OK. It takes 5 minutes to do a quick check which is why I recommended it.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,954
Skivvywaver said:
Run the memory tester. If it passes on one pass on default settings, reinstall windows. Your HDD and windows are expecting to see certain hardware. If it isn't seen it can cause the crash.
/\ An hour ago. I think you could have run the memtest and had windows reinstalled by now if you had tried what I asked you to try.:confused:
 

oneSorcerer

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
239
Problem solved. Memory checked out OK, and reinstalling windows did the trick. Lots of thanks, sorry I took so long to get back here.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top