1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Processor and Mainboard compatibility help (newbie here)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarcJamero, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MarcJamero

MarcJamero Thread Starter

:) Hi people! I am Marc, I am 19 and I am not really the dude with lots of PC hardware knowledge... But I am interested with it.

I'm new here and I need your advice on building a system. I am quite of a gamer and I am also a college student. I am planning to buy a processor and a motherboard online. And the rest of its components needed.

Here's my choices::confused:

Processor:
    Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6500 (FSB 1066MHz)
    Mainboard: ZOTAC GF9300-A-E LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9300 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard (FSB 1333MHz or 1066MHz)

I am not sure of my choices here, guys. :(

You guys can give me any piece of advice. Also you can refer me any brands of boards and or processors that you think of. Your help means so much to me.:)

Oh by the way, my budget is ONLY around $170 (I'm only a student. What do you expect? HAHA) for both the processor and motherboard. I know its rough. Please I really need your help here. I really must go cheap on this, but gotta have "quality" with the items though.:D

I have some parts here that I can still use though. That is why I only need to buy a processor and a mainboard. I've got a...

• Tommade TC-800 micro-ATX casing w/ a 500W PS.
    • a DVD-rom/CD-writer.
    • 15" VGA monitor
    • Windows Vista Home Basic with product key.
    • AVIRA Anti-virus
    • 4x2GB DDR2 800 Kingston
    • Office 2007 Home & Student