[SOLVED] Program File Bootconf.exe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
After I ran the Spybot software it showed the program file Bootconf.exe. I am afraid to do anything until I check with you all. Should this file be deleted and will the Spybot software do it for me when I click on fix problems without me having to go to the registry?

Also what is this file Bootconf.exe?

Thanks

Mackoo
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
When I go to Internet Options and click on Use Default, ??? shows in the slot. I have never seen this before.

Should I be concerned with this and how can I get it back to what it's suppose to be?

Mackoo
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
420
Hi Mackoo ,

Please do the following ,

Download CWShredder www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/cwshredder.zip
Close all browser windows , check the Taskbar for minimized windows as well , Run CWShredder.

Shutdown & Reboot your computer

Download , configure , and run Ad-aware 6.0 Personal , Build 6.181 according to the following Reference Guide http://forums.techguy.org/t164245/s0bd00da6e0f7008495f1c26aa8c2e08c.html

Next , Download SpywareBlaster v2.6.1 and SpywareGuard v2.2 for the prevention of both Spyware Active X installation and running , and Browser Hijacking protection in real-time http://www.wilderssecurity.net/index.html

Finally , Download Hijack This 1.97 www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ Press the scan button , Scan button becomes Save log button (Do not fix anything yet) , Save the log in the same folder Hijack This resides in , Copy and Paste the log to the forum.

Good luck
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Sounds like you clicked the wrong default tab...Try tools/internet options/security tab then default and apply
as well as advanced tab/default/apply..
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
I have the Hijackthis software already but can't remember how to copy and paste it here. I did it once before and I know I can do it again.

Mackoo
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
2,438
Assuming you have HT 1.97 already ...

Scan
That button becomes "save log" when the scan is completed ... click it
Save logfile window pops-up ... save
The Notepad window pop-up will have the logfile text
Right click, Select All
Right click, Copy
Come here and Paste

If you have an older version of HT, you can update from within the program that you have installed.
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
Ok after running scan and when I click on save microsoft binder pops up and there is nothing there with the log. I don't remember seeing this before when I did this.

Any suggestions?

Mackoo
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
I just downloaded the newer version I believe of Hijackthis in the Winzip Quick Pick does this sound right? And if it is I can't get it to open to run the scan like the old one I had. I follow the instructions but it won't open. How do I get this open to run a scan?

Mackoo
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
1,230
Did you do the first three steps of BlueSpruce post above?

When you went to INTERNET OPTIONS instead of clicking on USE DEFAULT, just type your home in the box like http://www.msn.com then click APPLY down at the bottom and click OK. That should set your default home page for you.

I have no clue what you are talking about when you say "microsoft binder pops up" or "Winzip Quick Pick".

Please give better details.
Thanks
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
Thanks Walkeriam for responsing. All I can say is when I downloaded what I thought was the newer version of Hijackthis from it website given and when I went to open after downloading and even on my desktop it says WinzipQuick Pick something I didn't see on the other Hijackthis software.

The Microsoft binder comes up after I clicked save for the save log but that was on the other Hijackthis software and what I have now I am like you can't figure this out.

Tomorrow I will try another download of Hijackthis and see if I can get this to work right I will keep you posted.

Everything is different can't figure it out either.

Mackoo
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
420
Hi Mackoo ,

Try the following , Press and hold down the Shift key , Left click , then Right click the Hijack This.zip File , Click open with , Scroll down to WinZip , Put a check in ''Always use this program to open this type of file'' , Click ok.

Next , Right click your mouse on your DeskTop , select New , Scroll down to and click Text Document , A new Text Document.txt should appear on your Desktop , Press and hold down the Shift key , Left click then Right click the New Text Document.txt , Click open with , Scroll down to NOTEPAD , Put a check in '' Always use this program to open this type of file'' , Click ok. Right click and delete the New Text Document.txt File.

Open the Hijack This.zip , Click Extract , Select Desktop , Click Extract. Hijack This.exe should appear on your Desktop , follow the instructions in winchester73's post #8.

Good luck
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
Ok I have this copy from Hijackthis but when I highlight copy and then try to paste it won't paste here. I remember doing something once before when I pasted here and can't remember but it worked like magic.

Any suggestion?

Mackoo
 

Mackoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
447
Here it is finally the scan log from Hijackthis. The copy and paste step I had to rename the Hijackthis file to Hijackthis.txt and it worked like magic.

Thanks for the patience and I will wait for a reply in what to do next.


Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.1
Scan saved at 5:45:53 PM, on 9/17/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVSYNMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALPLAYER\REALPLAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE SHARED COMPONENTS\GUARDIAN\CMGRDIAN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE SHARED COMPONENTS\INSTANT UPDATER\RULAUNCH.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WZQKPICK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0A\AOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0A\WAOL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE INTERNET SECURITY\GD32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE FIREWALL\CPD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE FIREWALL\CPD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE INTERNET SECURITY\GUARDDOG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE INTERNET SECURITY\GUARDDOG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSM.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSCSHELLEXTENSION.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [McAfee Guardian] "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Guardian\CMGrdian.exe" /SU
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeVirusScanService] C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [McAfee.InstantUpdate.Monitor] "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe" /STARTMONITOR
O4 - Startup: AOL Companion.lnk = C:\Program Files\AOL Companion\companion.exe
O4 - Startup: America Online 8.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 8.0a\aoltray.exe
O4 - Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37819.5055324074
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = aoldsl.net
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top