1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Programs freezing at startup.....might not be anything, but I'm being cautiou

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Diego Wolfwood, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I started up my computer just now and everything seemed fine until I tried to start an application. Some did not appear, though they appeared running in the task manager. The ones that did start up would load for a moment and freeze (I tried Trillian, which didn't start up, but appeared in the task manager, and Skype and Firefox, both of which froze)

    I'm not sure if this had anything to do with it at all, but as I was frustrated with nothing working I opened CCleaner and analyzed, and while it was doing that applications suddenly started working.

    My question is, what could have caused that? Is it something I need to worry about, such as a piece of my hardware slowly dieing?
     
  2. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I did it again today. I waited for several minutes after trying to start up Firefox before it un-froze itself and loaded.

    Some of the icons in the taskbar corner were also affected, such as the volume control (Still don't see it actually), Realtek HD Audio Manager and the Network Connections.

    Does anyone know why this is happening?
     
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything
     
  4. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Done, here's the HJT log file:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 2:45:15 PM, on 5/5/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\AvastSvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trillian\trillian.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\LogMeIn Hamachi\hamachi-2.exe
    C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe
    C:\Program Files\GreenLife Emerald Viewer\Emerald.exe
    C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = about:blank
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/default.aspx?ln=en-us
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {1FD79A59-37B1-459B-9097-09F9FAB8A523} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Alcmtr] ALCMTR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /installquiet
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IMJPMIG8.1] "C:\WINDOWS\IME\imjp8_1\IMJPMIG.EXE" /Spoil /RemAdvDef /Migration32
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSPY2002] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\PINTLGNT\ImScInst.exe /SYNC
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002ASync] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /SYNC
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002A] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /IMEName
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'c:\program files\bonjour\mdnsnsp.dll' missing
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/win...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1264423504093
    O16 - DPF: {99CAAA27-FA0C-4FA4-B88A-4AB1CC7A17FE} (MGLaunch_v1004 Class) - http://holic.netgame.com/launch/object/mglaunch_USAv1004.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{33FA9900-0C8C-4103-AF3E-FBE679E7FD05}: NameServer = 192.168.0.1,205.171.3.25
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{33FA9900-0C8C-4103-AF3E-FBE679E7FD05}: NameServer = 192.168.0.1,205.171.3.25
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\..\{33FA9900-0C8C-4103-AF3E-FBE679E7FD05}: NameServer = 192.168.0.1,205.171.3.25
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.DLL
    O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\AvastSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\AvastSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\AvastSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: LogMeIn Hamachi 2.0 Tunneling Engine (Hamachi2Svc) - LogMeIn Inc. - C:\Program Files\LogMeIn Hamachi\hamachi-2.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

    --
    End of file - 5531 bytes
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Is this happening in Safe Mode too?
     
  6. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I haven't tried Safe Mode. It has only happened twice, and after 5-10 minutes everything returns to normal. However, I am getting no sound out of firefox, which may or may not have to do with the volume control not showing up in the taskbar. Everything else seems to be working properly though.
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Do you have sound when playing music or videos offline?
     
  8. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Yes. Winamp is working fine, even streaming music in winamp is working.
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  10. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I tried steps 1-4 and it's still missing. I have 4 gigs of RAM but XP only supports 3.25.

    I'll try doing the clean boot now.
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  12. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I performed a clean boot. The volume icon appeared in the systray, and programs seemed to work fine. When I rebooted normally the problems returned. Reading that now.

    *EDIT*

    Volume still isn't there. Since it appeared on the clean boot and programs weren't freezing it must be a startup application problem, I guess?
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    The idea behind the Clean Boot was to find the culprit? What service have you isolated?
     
  14. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    None yet, I disabled all. I'll start narrowing it down.
     
  15. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Alright, finished.

    Well well, it appears one of 3 different Avast! services is causing this problem in it's entirety. Should I just uninstall it?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Programs freezing
  1. MRB1LL
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    518
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920966

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice