Solved: programs open with notepad

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigste78

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
68
Can anyone help me? My computer has recently started opening all programs with the notepad application. I have looked at the file extensions in 'folder options' and can't see any obvious problems. I can only access Outlook and Internet explorer from my desktop - nothing else works.
 

bigste78

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
68
Tried tendmicro's housecall, but found no viruses. Normally use Norton 2004 and run regular scans. Also tried downloading and running xp file association, but that didn't work either. Found this file which is for configuration settings - it is set to open with notepad. Could this be the problem, and if so, what should it open with?

DCBC2A71-70D8-4DAN-EHR8-E0D61DEA3FDF

It is located in \Documents and Settings\Local Settings\Application Data
 

bigste78

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
68
Can't open Spybot as it opens in a notepad window. I was already using an updated version of ad-aware 6.
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
931
Yeah, guess that makes sense.

Hmm......

If you can, go into explorer, and then tools > folder options.
Go to "File Types" and see if the .exe file type is registered with notepad. It's a long shot, but I'm not sure what else to do :-/
 

bigste78

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
68
Here's a thing...there doesn't seem to be an .exe file type listed! There is an .EXC file type that is described as a text document and opens with notepad. Is is possible that a virus or something changed the EXE to EXC and associated it with notepad? If so, what's the best way to fix it?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
378
Do a "Find" "files and folders" look for *.exc, then *.exe and see how many *.exe remains.
If some files that you are sure should be exe, are listed as exc, you have the answer.
 

bigste78

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
68
Managed to create a second administrator account, copy my files & delete my account and re-configure the new account. Lost my e-mails and internet history, but everything is working ok now. Don't know how or why or what caused it??? Thanks for all your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top