1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Property tab missing from My Computer system icon

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by dbmontg, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    When I right click on the computer icon on the desktop the properties tab is missing - can you show me how to fix this please
     
  2. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Any help would be appreciated
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have the same problem right clicking on Computer in the Start Menu and in the Navigation Pane of Windows Explorer?

    (I'm assuming that by "properties tab" you mean the Properties choice in the right click context menu.)
     
  4. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, I do mean the Properties choice and yes, I have the same problem when I right click on Computer on the start menu and when I click on Computer in the folder view.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't know what is causing that.

    Another way to try to get there is <Windows logo key> + <Pause>. For some laptops you need to do <Fn> + <Windows logo key> + <Pause>.
     
  6. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    try performing a "system restore" back to a date when it was working
     
  7. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    This does show the screen that I need, but it doesn't fix my problem with the Properties tab not showing on the right click menu of the Computer system icon.

    I tried a Restore didn't fix it.
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,114
    Try going to Control Panel > System.
     
  9. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Are you saying I need to order the CD?
     
  10. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    hiya,did you try several restore points,what CD are you referring to order?please inform the make/model of your computer.
     
  11. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Unfortunately when I lost the Properties tab I also lost all restore points.

    The cd was referenced in a previous post with the following link:
    Windows 7 Security



     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you show us a screenshot of where this Properties tab should be?


    To take a screenshot,

    1- Hit the Printscreen key on your keyboard. This will copy your entire screen to the clipboard. Hitting ALT + Printscreen will only copy the active window.

    2- Open Paint. (press the Windows key + R > type mspaint and click OK)

    3- Select Edit.

    4- Click on Paste. (or simply press CTRL+V on your keyboard)

    5- Select File.

    6- Click on Save As...

    7- Save your screenshot as a JPEG file.

    8- Attach the screenshot to your next post.

    How to Attach a File
     
  13. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
  14. dbmontg

    dbmontg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Does anybody have a solution?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    There's the "nuclear" solution--reinstall Windows or "recover or restore to factory defaults." But I would not suggest that if this is the only problem you are having.

    You could try SFC /SCANNOW.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088472

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice