1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: proxy server refusing connections

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by refundsx, Jan 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. refundsx

    refundsx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I have recently installed a NETGEAR modem for internet connection and currently have two computers connected to it through to the internet.

    One is running Windows 7 and works fine.

    The other is running Windows XP and although initially it was connecting, it now comes up with this message when trying to connect through IE or Mozilla (The Proxy Server is refusing connections
    Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections
    ).

    I can upload to remote servers as I have a couple of websites that I amend regulalrly and publish to the web. I guess it's the download side that's the problem.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Derek
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Are you using a proxy server?

    Open Internet Explorer. Click Tools > Internet Options > Connections > Lan settings > Proxy server > Advanced > delete proxy server settings > click OK > uncheck all boxes > click OK.

    In Firefox, click Tools > Options... > General > Advanced > Network > Settings > delete proxy settings > select No proxy > click OK.
     
  3. refundsx

    refundsx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for your prompt reply, but when I get to 'tools' the "internet Options" is greyed out, not clickable?
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Please click HERE to download and install HijackThis.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile from the Main Menu.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    IMPORTANT: Do not fix anything

    (use a USB flash drive to copy the program from a computer with Internet connection...)
     
  5. refundsx

    refundsx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    thanks a bundle for that advice. It seems to be fine now
    (y)
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Glad I could help! (y)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974731

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice