Solved: PS3 HDD upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PeRrY-_-

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
2
Ive got all my stuff backed up and the new hard drive ready to put in, i just have one problem, the screws heads on the case holding the old hard drive are stripped. they are extremely small and i have no clue what to do. i have like no money to go out and spend so what would be a good way to fix it?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
555
Dont bother upgrading, just use an external :) Or better yet connect it to your network. Thats what I do with mine and its awesome, I can access my entire video collection on all of my computers over wifi and watch it on my tv using my ps3!
 

PeRrY-_-

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
2
its fine, i figured it out lol got my stuff all backed up so i used a drill so the old hard drive is broke but the new one is perfectly fine
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
26
Just got my son a 160Gb PS3 for Christmas. We have it hooked up to the HDTV in the living room and so far so good.

The Wii hasn't been being played for a while and now it is really going to collect dust..LOL
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
26
Sell it xD The move really just makes the wii obsolete.
Really? I tried out the move before Christmas and I tried using it the way I am used to the Wii working and tried to do it like that and just couldn't grasp it. That doesn't mean it isn't good, I just haven't learned it...

Not meaning to get the thread off track, but has anyone tried out the Kinect? That really looks awesome if it works as good as it appears in the commercials.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
555
Ive tried it once, it seemed like someone had just rebranded an eyetoy... then again I didnt get to see many of its cool features.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
15
Dont bother upgrading, just use an external :) Or better yet connect it to your network. Thats what I do with mine and its awesome, I can access my entire video collection on all of my computers over wifi and watch it on my tv using my ps3!
how did you do this? tell me :D
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
555
Format an external hard drive as FAT32 using windows and then plug it in via USB. The PS3 should detect it easy as pie.

As for the connection over the internet, there is an option under the "ps3" called "media server" download a program for your pc called "java media server" (its free, google it,) and once installed you can use this button from the ps3 to access your pc running as a media server.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
15
can i just portion part of my hard drive on my desktop in fat32? also can i play backup games like this?
also i like pie :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top