1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: quad-core not installed correctly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by farstrider2001, Jun 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. farstrider2001

    farstrider2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    i had restored my pc recently & noticed one of the cores for my pc was listed unknown device which it wasnt before i did the (format)restore below is my computer model/info

    Windows Vista premium 32bit sp2
    AMD Phenom 9500 Quad-Core Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 2
    Acer AM5100-E5402A Foxconn F690GVM[​IMG]
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Uninstall and reboot and see what happens.

    What does the onscreen message from Windows at boot time say about the processor?
     
  3. farstrider2001

    farstrider2001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    it worked thank you. wasnt sure about it @ first since it was a prebuilt acer & im running off of wsus. didnt want it to cause it to not restart properly.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1056842