1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Questions about Windows 7 (32-bit)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by morland, Apr 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. morland

morland Thread Starter

I am just tired and exhausted of trying to find XP drivers for my laptop and I think I will probably go with Windows 7 in a day or so. I know there will be a learning curve since I have been using only XP (32-bit) for the last so many years.

I have a few questions and will appreciate if I can please get help:

1. Does Windows 7 automatically detect all the drivers. Will it? Or do I need to spend a few months trying to find Windows 7 drivers for my laptop (For Sony VAIO VGN-FZ140E which has only 2 GB RAM)
    2. Is Windows 7 (32-bit) faster than XP (32-bit). Maybe the answer will be subjective but would like to request views
    3. I have been using Sygate as my firewall for years and simply love it. I am very familiar with it's interface and details. I think Sygate is no longer available but does anyone know if it will work under Windows 7 (32-bit). For the worst case scenario, I have shortlisted a freeware firewall called COMODO
    4. I have a few utilities that I probably cannot do without. Amongst these is KeyText 2000 (v2.16). Has anyone used it and will it work under Win 7. Maybe later (not now) I might purchase their latest version. I am actually trying to explore and learn a freeware called AutoHotKey

Thanks

2. thingamajig

thingamajig Banned

3. Mumbodog

Mumbodog

1. For the most part yes, but not really old hardware, the upgrade advisor will show you which if any are not compatible with W7.

3. Sygate will not work in W7, I wish it did, its my favorite...W7 will block the Sygate driver.