(Solved) Quick launch toolbar problem....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hmr516

Thread Starter
Joined
May 25, 2001
Messages
174
I downloaded a program called Paltalk. It put an icon on my quick launch toolbar. I am using WinME. I went into MSCONFIG, deleted the checkmark next to the program on the startup tab, clicked apply, then OK. I then restarted my computer but the icon was still there. I can exit that program from the icon by right clicking it, but it always reappears when I start up. Is there any other way to find out why I can't delete it, or stop it from appearing when I boot up? Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Messages
3,520
Is there an option in the program to lanch when windows starts up? If so disable start with windows.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
There is a difference between the quick launch bar and the taskbar. The icon will stay in the quick launch without the program running – that is normal. Icons show up in the tray only if the source program is somehow active. If you remove the check mark in msconfig/startup the icon should not appear in the tray anymore. But the quick launch is just a place to put icons for when you can’t see the desktop. If you don’t want it there just right click and delete it.

On rare occasions you have to remove the program from the startup folder in Start>Programs as well as uncheck it in msconfig.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
3,015
There's also a key in the registry where stuff gets loaded. If the application you're looking for isn't in the Startup folder on the start menu, look in

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

the key exists in HKEY_CURRENT_USER too.
 

hmr516

Thread Starter
Joined
May 25, 2001
Messages
174
Problem is now solved. I took the program out of the start up folder, and that solved the problem. Thank you all for your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top