1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Quick question about raid

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rhorne4, Jul 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rhorne4

    rhorne4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    If a motherboard supports raid and i do not run raid,do i need to install the raid drivers when i install the os.Thank's for any information.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    You might. Depends on the chipset, if its an Intel or VIA you can disable the RAID functionality or switch the SATA controller in a legacy PATA mode and you may not have to load the drivers. With ATI I'm not sure but you will likely need to load the drivers, with Nvidia you do and with add-on controllers you wil as well.

    You'll know soon enough if you don't load the SATA/RAID drivers, the WIndows installation just won't see a hard drive.
     
  3. rhorne4

    rhorne4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    Thank's for the reply.I know nothing about using a raid since i have never been interested in running one.The board i am using is an intel board with raid 0/1/0 +1/5 matrix raid if this tells you anything.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    I believe you might need to make the driver diskette and press F6 during Windows setup to load the drivers.

    It shoudl tell you how to do it in the manual if there's no floppy disk included with the board.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You might also try telling us the exact model of the Intel board, makes it easier to find out what is and isn't required.

    I'd guess that being an Intel board, you probably won't have to load the drivers, since the two that I've used both emulated IDE drives when the RAID wasn't enabled.
     
  6. rhorne4

    rhorne4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    Sorry about that JohnWill.It is an intel D945GNT.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Quick question
  1. Skye55
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    220
  2. Katehhgdxbx
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    179
  3. JoeShmoeJohnDoe
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    117
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485738

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice