1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Quick Video Card Comparison - Core Clock vs Memory Clock

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BerretSO4, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BerretSO4

BerretSO4 Thread Starter

Greetings,

I am trying to compare between two video cards that are very similar, and I'd like some other opinions on which would be the better purchase. The differences are subtle but I am not experienced enough to know how large the effective payout difference will be.

-=-=-
    The first card is here:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102834

It is a SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100273L Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card. The Core Clock is at 650 MHz, the Memory Clock is at 1000 MHz. The final price would be $102.

-=-=-
    The second card is here:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161296

It is a HIS H485FM1GH Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card. The Core Clock is at 625 MHz, the Memory Clock is at 1986MHz. The final price would be $109.

-=-=-

My comparison so far is that Card 1 has 25 more MHz Core, but 986 Mhz less Memory Clock.
    Warranties are the same.
    I cannot truly tell, but it seems like the fan on card 1 is less robust than card 2. Can someone confirm this?
    As far as my research has led me, the manufacturers themselves are not very different.
    GRAM, SPU's, etc., are all identical between the cards. The main difference is in the two clock speeds.