1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dude0395, Jun 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dude0395

    dude0395 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have an hp G62 computer and i cannot connect with my Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter to my d-link router. I used to be able to but is it possible i have to somehow change some settings to make it recognize a 5ghz network? By the way i have windows 7 home premium. i have copied my system information below. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3957 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6370, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 457976 MB, Free - 108164 MB; D: Total - 18658 MB, Free - 2704 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1426, 54.57, PX11T011ZZQ17
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    May we see:
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    And:
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_...g_a_Screenshot
     
  3. dude0395

    dude0395 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Zach>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Zach-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-F4-6A-BA-BA-D9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-F4-6A-BA-BA-D8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f5c2:e893:1c3:c9e6%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.194(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 04, 2011 10:33:02 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 05, 2011 10:33:02 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 320402538
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-50-60-89-78-AC-C0-3F-32-A4

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-AC-C0-3F-32-A4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FD925B74-DFC3-4759-AFE1-53C43FEBE0FD}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:4d5:8cf:52e4:738(Preferr
    ed)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4d5:8cf:52e4:738%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Zach>

    Here is what i got for the command prompt
     
  4. dude0395

    dude0395 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I guess the problem is my adapter doesnt pick up 5ghz signals
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You appear to have a working connection on the Ralink entry.
    Can you execute the following pings ?
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 8.8.8.8

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.




    And can we see the Xirrus report ?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    You are correct. 5 GHz Wi-Fi is 802.11a, and that is not included in "Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter."
     
  7. dude0395

    dude0395 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Ohh ok thanks thats the problem then
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1000462