1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ram different speed..and now BSOD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by natsu_dragneel, Jan 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. natsu_dragneel

    natsu_dragneel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    i just buy a new laptop few days ago..and i ask the guy to upgrade my ram..

    spec
    i5 3210M (2.5 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.10GHz)
    4GB DDR3 800Mhz/PC3-12800

    and he install another ram in my laptop
    4GB DDR3 667Mhz/PC3-10666

    and i get BSOD even at the first hour i start using my laptop..and i get BSOD 4-5 times per day or maybe more..and its already 13 times in this few days..and the error is memory management..i run window memory management and it state hardware problem..i spend almost around 1100 US DOLLAR for this laptop..and this is really upset me..i dont know how to run the memtest86+.its really complicated..but i did run CPU-Z

    i'm a noob..so..from what the CPU-Z result..i understand that my ram speed is following the newly install ram speed..is this the reason why my laptop BSOD at the first hour after i used it??what do u think i should do??should i ask refund for the ram because this RAM cause my laptop to downgrade..i read from other site..they said if the speed is not the same..then it will run single chanel mode..my laptop run with window 8..hope some one will help me..i will send my laptop to the shop..but i just want to know what i should do instead
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Did a computer shop install the new (unmatched) memory? It's never a good idea to mix ram as the timings and voltage may differ and cause the exact issue you're having.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,458
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name, model name, and model number of your laptop?

    A screenshot of the "Mainboard" tab would've been helpful.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    You should take it back to the place of sale and have him remove the additional RAM. Then if you still want more RAM have him install the correct speed, matched RAM if possible, and have him test the RAM with a proper testing utility such as Memtest86+.
     
  5. natsu_dragneel

    natsu_dragneel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    problem solved..the shop will change the ram to the specification..thanz guy
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084456

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice