1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Ram Placement Questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by goodpc, Jun 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. goodpc

    goodpc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    in my first 2 slots i have 2x 512 mb sticks of ram in the second i have 2x 1gb sticks of ram is this ok?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    Technically yes.
    Is all the ram the same speed?
    If the 512 mb ram is slower than the 1G ram all ram will run at the slower speed.
    2G is more than enough ram for XP
     
  4. goodpc

    goodpc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    yes they are both 400mhz and im running vista with 3 gb........ thanks for the response
     
  5. goodpc

    goodpc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    but should the 1gb sticks be placed before the 512 sticks
     
  6. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    Doesn't matter. As long as the RAM in each channel matches, you're fine.

    eg: both 512 sticks in slots 1 and 3, both 1gb sticks in slots 2 and 4, or vice versa. Most of the time the slots are identified by color on your motherboard.
     
  7. goodpc

    goodpc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    ok thanks for the help
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/724890