Solved: ram upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gazbag

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
201
I would like to increase the ram in my system. at the moment i have 2x2GB corsair ddr3 xms3. can i add 2x4GB or do they have to be the same as what i already have.
also after adding them do i have to change any settings etc.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 760 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 4087 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 194702 MB; E: Total - 476929 MB, Free - 441334 MB;
Motherboard: ASRock, P55M Pro
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled

many thanks
gary
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
There should not be a problem with adding more RAM. Just first check on the manufacturer's site for the motherboard that the new RAM is in the RAM compatability list.

You should also make sure it is the exact same voltage as the existing RAM, frequency is not so important as the system will automatically run at the speed of the slowest RAM stick.

You should also make sure that the motherboard will support the full amount of 12GB of RAM or it will be a waste of money fitting it.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
if you do a scan at www.crucial.com that will also advise on memory
out of interest what are you doing that needs that amount of memory ?
 

gazbag

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
201
not doing nothing special. just use the pc at home for normal everyday use. i thought increasing the ram would be a benefit. it says my motherboard can take up to 16GB
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top