1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ram upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gazbag, Nov 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gazbag

    gazbag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    I would like to increase the ram in my system. at the moment i have 2x2GB corsair ddr3 xms3. can i add 2x4GB or do they have to be the same as what i already have.
    also after adding them do i have to change any settings etc.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 760 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4087 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 194702 MB; E: Total - 476929 MB, Free - 441334 MB;
    Motherboard: ASRock, P55M Pro
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled

    many thanks
    gary
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    There should not be a problem with adding more RAM. Just first check on the manufacturer's site for the motherboard that the new RAM is in the RAM compatability list.

    You should also make sure it is the exact same voltage as the existing RAM, frequency is not so important as the system will automatically run at the speed of the slowest RAM stick.

    You should also make sure that the motherboard will support the full amount of 12GB of RAM or it will be a waste of money fitting it.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you do a scan at www.crucial.com that will also advise on memory
    out of interest what are you doing that needs that amount of memory ?
     
  4. gazbag

    gazbag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    not doing nothing special. just use the pc at home for normal everyday use. i thought increasing the ram would be a benefit. it says my motherboard can take up to 16GB
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. gazbag

    gazbag Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    201
  7. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    If you want a performance boost think about getting an SSD.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028619

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice