Solved: Ram

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
howdy....after getting the new avg my system is really slow....have turned off most everything, but after a few sites visited system is slowing....i only have 32mb ram with my 95os....somewhere i read that 95 does not like too much ram?????? is a bit more, say 64mb, withing 95"s tolerances?,,,and more important, would the effort be worth it ?????? THANKS....here is my hjt log...
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
Scan saved at 9:36:17 AM, on 1/30/05
Platform: Windows 95 B (Win9x 4.00.1111)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v4.70 SP1 (4.70.0000.1155)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LOADWC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\tapiexe.exe
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\POP-UP STOPPER FREE EDITION\PSFREE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.earthlink.net/partner/more/msie/button/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = {BROWSER_HOMEPAGE}
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0055C089-8582-441B-A0BF-17B458C2A3A8} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected]3,&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BrowserWebCheck] loadwc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: ZDelete Auto-Cleaner (HKCU)
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Macromedia Active Shockwave) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} -
O16 - DPF: {11111111-1111-1111-2222-111111111157} -
 

cybertech

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
72,115
Run HJT again and put a check in the following:

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0055C089-8582-441B-A0BF-17B458C2A3A8} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - (no file)
O16 - DPF: {11111111-1111-1111-2222-111111111157} -

Close all applications and browser windows before you click "fix checked".
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
THANK YOU..... here is my hjt log now....were those items suspicious or actually known problems?? thanks again...

.Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
Scan saved at 11:15:27 AM, on 1/30/05
Platform: Windows 95 B (Win9x 4.00.1111)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v4.70 SP1 (4.70.0000.1155)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LOADWC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.earthlink.net/partner/more/msie/button/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = {BROWSER_HOMEPAGE}
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BrowserWebCheck] loadwc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: ZDelete Auto-Cleaner (HKCU)
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Macromedia Active Shockwave) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} -
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,548
Barncat:

Click here and download the msconfig.exe file for Windows 95. Place this file in the C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM folder, then restart your computer.

You will now be able to access and edit the startup list, just like Windows 98/ME/XP users can. To see if it works in your computer, click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK. A gray box with several tabs(including a "Startup" tab) should appear.

Once you do this, let me know and we'll work on trimming down the startup list. I see at least 3 of them that don't have to run in the background. The smaller the startup load, the less of a load that you'll have in your computer.

---------------------------------------------------------------

If your computer only has 32 MB of RAM, it'll run much better with 64 MB. It probably uses the older EDO RAM modules though, and they don't come too cheap anymore.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click the link below, then read the article about boosting performance in older computers.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

cybertech

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
72,115
barncat said:
THANK YOU..... here is my hjt log now....were those items suspicious or actually known problems?? thanks again...
They were all missing.

Download the new version of Hijackthis and post another log sometime while flavallee is working with you.
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
Thank you....have not dwnld msconfig yet....will work on that now.....here is the new hjt log...

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 1:54:38 PM, on 1/30/05
Platform: Windows 95 B (Win9x 4.00.1111)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v4.70 SP1 (4.70.0000.1155)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LOADWC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\tapiexe.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
C:\DOWNLOADS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE NEW.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = {BROWSER_HOMEPAGE}
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,SearchAssistant = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.earthlink.net/partner/more/msie/button/search.html
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BrowserWebCheck] loadwc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra button: ZDelete Auto-Cleaner - {EB7F329E-F14E-48ae-AB69-4E28C492D382} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL (HKCU)
O13 - WWW. Prefix: http://
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} -
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
NOW HAVE MSCONFIG....i seem to have several programs that will control startup.

thank you.....
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,548
Go into the MSCONFIG "Startup" tab and uncheck the following:

loadwc

pctptt

ptsnoop


click Apply - OK, then reboot.

See if your computer now starts a little faster and has a little more pep to it.
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
OH, Thank You! those items have been with me since i got the computer 3yrs ago...i thought they were needed for startup....
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,548
It shouldn't need them. If it does, you can always go back and recheck them. I'm assuming that MSCONFIG is working for you with Windows 95?

If you want to read about these startup items, just go to this site and enter them in the SEARCH block. This site is about the best one on the Internet for researching startup items, so you should keep it in your list of Favorites and make use of it from time to time.
 

cybertech

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
72,115
Run HJT again and put a check in the following:

O13 - WWW. Prefix: http://
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} -

Close all applications and browser windows before you click "fix checked".
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
Thank You for all the help......computer seems alittle faster....the test will be the next time i go to ebay....it always bogs me down....:) ,,,,,thanks, again...
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,548
Turn off any screensaver you may have running, turn off any background wallpaper you may have, and reduce the color palette from 32-bit true color to 16-bit high color. The less of a graphic load you have on that old computer, the more performance you can wring out of it.

If you can afford it and can find it, increasing the RAM from 32 MB to 64 MB will give that computer a good performance boost.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top