1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Random freezes, have to manually shut down computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by needhelp87, Dec 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. needhelp87

    needhelp87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Hi, I've been having this very annoying problem for a while now. I am searching the net for days now but can't seem to find a solution. My laptop is around 10 months old, and the last couple of weeks I've been experiencing these random freezes. It doesn't matter what I do it just happens - sometimes when browsing on the net, or even when no browser is open and just working on a Word document. There are days when it can go hours without any problem, but these freezes become more and more frequent. The Task Manager doesnt come up, the only thing I can do is manually shut down. I have no idea what is causing this - just thought it could be Window7 related problem. Please, someone help me figure this out because it is becoming very annoying.

    Gateway laptop NV54 Series
    Pentium (R) Dual-Core CPU 2.20 GHz
    4.00 GB RAM
    Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. needhelp87

    needhelp87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    bump

    any help or suggestion would be very much appreciated
     
  3. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    What do you have running in the background on startup? Download Autoruns for Windows Run it and select the startup tab. Take a screen shot and post it here.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      73.6 KB
      Views:
      394
  4. needhelp87

    needhelp87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks, here is the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    OK, I don’t see anything unusual in the startup. But to nullify the software factor let do a clean boot of Windows 7. Go to this Microsoft Support Link and follow the direction for a clean boot. After the clean boot is setup just run the computer as normal and see if it freezes. Post back with the results.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971213

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice