Solved: Random Wireless network dropout

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SamHiggy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
5
Hey there "Tech Support Guy"! New user here.For a few weeks, I have been having intermittent wireless trouble. This includes Ping spiking, Wireless network drop-outs (The network stop appearing on available network list) and packet loss. This is all completely random (though very common) and is frustrating to say the least. As far as I know, the problem is not nearly as bad on other devices in the house , so I suspect that my network card has become shoddy. I have tried updating,removing,and re-installing network drivers to no avail. I have also used cmd and I have pinged 192.168.1.254, which shows random ping spikes, and some packet loss as well. I hope this is enough info to get an idea on my situation. Any assistance would be great, thanks!
Currently using a BT HomeHub2.0 and Ralink RT61 wireless card
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.
please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

lets see the following please

ipconfig /all
Three Ping tests
xirrus screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

then type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

To post a screen shot of the active window.
Windows XP
Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

Windows 8
you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
see here
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

SamHiggy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
5
Right, At the moment I am using:
BT Homehub 2.0 – with firmware Software version 4.7.5.1.83.3.37 (Type B) Last updated 05/09/12
The lights on the Homehub stay a solid blue, both with and without a connection

Currently I am using avast! Antivirus, and I have previously used Mcaffe.
With Connection:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CarlHignett-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT61 Turbo Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A1-B0-25-2D-46
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30c2:a14e:11ab:e76%24(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.79(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 February 2013 21:07:50
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 08 February 2013 22:08:30
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335585712
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-A4-A5-63-BC-AE-C5-D9-AC-48
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-D9-AC-48
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5049:f8b0:507c:7bc1%11(Deprecated)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.123.193(Tentative)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:1c5c:3e41:9264:645e(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c5c:3e41:9264:645e%21(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
s
Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes






Cmd ping – 192.168.1.254
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>Ping 192.168.1.254

Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 2ms

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>

Cmd Ping – google.com
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [173.194.41.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.41.99: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=52
Reply from 173.194.41.99: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=52
Reply from 173.194.41.99: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=52
Reply from 173.194.41.99: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 173.194.41.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 20ms

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>


Cmd ping - 209.183.226.152
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=46
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=46
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=46
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=110ms TTL=46

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 99ms, Maximum = 110ms, Average = 102ms

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>

Xirrus Screenshot:
SSID - BTHomehub2-S62P



Without connection:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CarlHignett-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT61 Turbo Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A1-B0-25-2D-46
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-D9-AC-48
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5049:f8b0:507c:7bc1%11(Deprecated)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.123.193(Tentative)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


Cmd Ping – 192.168.1.254
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ipconfig /all>network.txt&network.txt

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ping 192.168.1.254

Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>

Cmd Ping – google.com
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ipconfig /all>network.txt&network.txt

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ping 192.168.1.254

Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>
Cmd Ping - 209.183.226.152

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.79: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\Users\Carl Hignett>

Xirrus Screenshot:
SSID - BTHomehub2-S62P

I think that is it....
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
all the BT channel 5 wireless networks appear to disappear when you lose connection

can we see the graph of you connection

actually for the graph- it maybe better to use inSSIDer
http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/

. As far as I know, the problem is not nearly as bad on other devices in the house
do any other devices lose connection at the same time ?

and I have previously used Mcaffe.
did you use the removal tool - if not then run the removal tool and lets make sure its fully removed
Mcafee Removal Tool
http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html
 

SamHiggy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
5
After the connection could not be found (for the umpteenth time), I checked other devices in the house, and they seemed to be picking up the wireless signal just fine. I have also used the tool you kindly linked and have removed Mcaffe completely, and I have attached two insider picture, one with and one without connection.
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
thats confirming the wireless is disappearing - have a look at the timegraph tab and select just your wireless network

, I checked other devices in the house, and they seemed to be picking up the wireless signal just fine.
in which case the router is still broadcasting OK and something on your PC is losing the signal

it maybe an issue with the aerial connection or adapter

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Try reseating the wireless adapter

If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
Remove and reinsert it carefully and firmly to make sure it is not loose.
Then remove and carefully and firmly replace it several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
Note: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have tried updating,removing,and re-installing network drivers to no avail.
did you actually re-install or just update?

whats the make an exact model of the PC

I suspect you already tried this
Install the driver from the manufacturers website - not an update - but actually install
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

right click on the adapter and from the menu

remove/uninstall the adapter

Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

SamHiggy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
5
Ok. Firstly I tried removing my network drivers and restarting my computer so windows could detect it. And while it did well for a while, it was not a permanent fix, and after an hour or so it reverted to it's ways. I have also opened up my computer and had a look at the network card. Whilst I'm not completely tech-ignorant, I didn't feel comfortable with pulling out and re-slotting my network card, as It didn't seem to budge much when I pulled it with some force. However I did make sure that it was connected to the antenna correctly, and i made sure it was tightly connected to the motherboard.This produced the same result as before. With regards to my PC model, It was a custom built PC, so what specific details would you like?
With this is a time graph of my current connection on inSSIDer


Also, I recently got a Wireless headset (Sound Blaster Tactic 3D Wrath to be specific), And I have noticed when pinging my router that, if I am listening to music, the sound will occasionally glitch and the ping will spike at the same time. Could my wireless headset be interrupting the signal?
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Could my wireless headset be interrupting the signal?
yes, try without those connected/switched on
also baby monitors , cordless phones and micowaves can all interfer
 

SamHiggy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
5
Ok, I moved the Wireless headset USB adapter from the back ports, which were close to the antenna, to the front ports. Been several hours and no disconnects. I'll wait till tomorrow, but if all is well, I'll mark this thread as solved (however you do that). Thanks so much for the help! :D
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know - fingers crossed
this is how to mark thread solved
You can mark your own threads solved using the
button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner.
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top