1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Re: How can I bypass the login screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by skeeter5000, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. skeeter5000

    skeeter5000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    I want to bypass this screen, but my machine does not have the message that Elvandil states on the
    orginal posted thread.

    start >run "Control Userpasswords2" does not show up.

    Can you guide me through this procedure?

    This screen is a real bother to me.

    I am using Window 7 Home Premium. This is on a HP computer.

    Thanks for your time.

    :)
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,989
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Can you provide link to the thread you are referring to?
     
  3. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,613
    Did you type the command in run? Or better yet, copy and past Control Userpasswords2 in the run command and follow Elvandil recommendations.
     
  4. skeeter5000

    skeeter5000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    148
  5. skeeter5000

    skeeter5000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Lance1,

    I did not follow other than I hit start, typed run in the window; what came up was several different
    topics. Control panel (10) was one of them. Also a run topic, I tried several different things, still no joy.

    I know this does not explain this very well, I am lost.

    I just got this new setup last week and my old puter had XP. I thougth was very good. Monitor went out
    and had the whole computer checked out and was told it was on borrow time. Some of the capacitors
    where starting to swell, so just went new.

    I do not like this OS.

    Thanks
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,989
    First Name:
    Chuck
    To clarify the information in the post and what Lance1 said:

    1) Click on "Start" in the task bar and click"Run ..." from the menu that opens up.

    2) That will open a dialog screen with a text entry box labeled "Open:"

    3) Type in or copy and paste the command Control Userpasswords2 into the text box and click the OK button.

    4) That will open a "User Accounts" screen. Select the "Users" tab if it is not all ready selected.

    5) Uncheck the checkbox for "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer."

    6) Click the "OK" button.
     
  7. skeeter5000

    skeeter5000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    Well Chuck,

    This is what went wrong. I click start, a menu opens, but no where do I see run. Before I had, typed, it into
    the window. My computer does not have a run topic on the screen that opens.

    Thanks for answering.

    My computers are always different from others.

    If you can comment on how to get to the proper place, I would appreciate it very much.
     
  8. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,989
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Ah, the joys of Windows 7; what used to be a default in a previous version of Windows is no longer a default. I guess I must have added the Run command in the process of Decrapifying Windows 7 over a year ago.

    If your keyboard has the Windows logo key, try holding it down and tapping the "R" key.

    What happened to the Run command?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/What-happened-to-the-Run-command
     
  9. skeeter5000

    skeeter5000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    148
    I would like to thank all that replied to this thread. I may have the thing adjusted.

    Now the computer goes to sleep and I have it checked never.

    Go figure.

    Thanks again.
     
  10. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,989
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You're welcome.

    Make sure you don't have it also set to go into hibernation after some time.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved bypass login
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,174
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975332

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice