1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Re installed Win XP, now can't play DVD in Mediaplayer

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by madbadger, Jan 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madbadger

    madbadger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    220
    Evenin' all

    Well the title says it all, reinstalled XP, now when I stick a DVD in the drive, Mediaplayer says it can't play DVDs.....

    I reckon I need to d/l some codecs, d'you guys have any good links for DVD codecs? And where do I install them to once I've got 'em?

    Thanks once again :)

    MB
     
  2. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    Hi There!


    Start with WINDOWS UPDATE

    You may need to load some DVD Decoder software also to get it to work correctly!


    Good Luck!
     
  3. madbadger

    madbadger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    220
    Thanks Sexy Tech, bin there, nuthin' for me to d/l :(

    MB
     
  4. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    what DVD software came with the system?

    Most systems that have DVD come with WinDVD, PowerDVD etc.

    Those will provide a software decoder that will enable the DVD to play in Media Player.

    Also, If you have a DVD chip on your Video card...Such as "ATI Rage Theater", then you need to make sure you have the proper drivers and software loaded for that!
     
  5. madbadger

    madbadger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    220
    You got it!

    I have Power DVD somewhere, I'll install it & all will be well I'm sure, sorry to waste your time,

    Thanx again, MB
     
  6. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    No Problem MB!

    Sometimes the easiest solution is the one that we overlook!

    I've done that myself...so No Worries! :D


    Peace...Out!

    ST
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - (Solved) installed can't
  1. dragster1981
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    855
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114987

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice