1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Re-installing Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by gordy52, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Hi all. after googling for quite a while, I'm still stuck. Here's my problem. I'm trying to re-install Windows XP using the XP disk (not recovery disk, actual windows xp cd). Now I have did it before with no problems, but when I click to delete the partition of which the "old" install of XP is on, I get this message -

    "Setup is unable to perform the requested operation on the selected partition. This partition contains temporary setup files that are required to complete the installation"

    I have no recovery CD's as it wasn't a "bought computer package" if you know what I mean, only the Windows XP CD. I did find a solution but it involved having a boot disk. I havent got a floppy disk drive by the way so I couldn't do that. All I have is the Windows XP CD

    Can anyone help?

    Thank You
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    In the bios setup....is the cd drive the first boot device?
     
  3. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Yes it is. I have no problem booting from the XP disk which takes me to the setup etc
     
  4. sockey99

    sockey99

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    I think all you have to do is reformat the partion, not delete it. This will get rid of the old install and let the new install complete.You loose all data.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,491
    First Name:
    James
    Did you run the setup from bootup or in windows?
     
  6. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    How would you reformat it? I don't like changing things that I'm not entireley sure of. and yes Iv tried the setup from windows and from boot up.

    Thanks so far, appreciate the time u's are taking (y)
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,491
    First Name:
    James
    You select the partion then it should ask you what file format you want.

    Please answer my question from post #5
     
  8. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    When you get to the choice to delete the partition you have, just go ahead and delete it and then you will create a new one--that will get rid of the setup files. You have to make sure you are booting from the CD though and you need to make sure that it is set up right as a master.
     
  9. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16

    From boot up.
     
  10. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Thats the problem, it doesnt let me
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,491
    First Name:
    James
    hmmm.... well that's odd because I have never seen that. I have always been able to delete all partitions.
     
  12. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Oh--I'm sorry--I just re-read and saw that you are trying to delete the partition.

    Are you actually booting from the CD? In other words, is it saying: "Hit any key to boot from CD?" or something similar?
     
  13. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    If you can't get it to work, you can create a Win98 startup disc and used Fdisk to do it--that will definitely do it. But you need a floppy drive.
     
  14. gordy52

    gordy52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    My pc boots up with the Xp CD in. and then I get the choice of either loading windows XP normally or entering the setup to install it.

    Deleteing or re-formatting, all I want is to re-install windows Xp "over" the old one. I thought I would have to delete the other one

    Edit: If I just leave it(aka i dont choose one of them) it automatically goes to the set-up
     
  15. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Then you are NOT booting from the Windows CD--what happened is you aborted a setup at some point and now you have that on you hard drive. If you were booting from the CD, you would not get that message.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved installing Windows
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    99
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    202
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486231

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice