1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Re Writer

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by GUSMAN, Jan 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GUSMAN

    GUSMAN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    774
    Hi guys, First of all Happy New Year,
    I have a CD re-writer installed, and have had no problems copying disks and the usual stuff. I downloaded a few songs off the net and decided to create a CD. When I had put all the songs into the list, I clicked on create CD and the message below came up. I clicked on OK and it continued to create the CD with no problems, and it plays great (Quite chuffed).
    So I decided to create a jewel case cover to go with it. But when I clicked "add CD Contents, which is a quick way to do it, the same message came up, only this time it would not add the contents and just closed.
    It's not life threatening I know, but I'm just curious about it.
    Thanks for any help ,
    Gus.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Have you rebooted since then & tried again..

    also empty your cache
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Try running SFC from the start button, run, then type SFC and press ok.....scan for altered files.....
     
  4. Gnosisless

    Gnosisless

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    482
    I think your problem was probably caused by installing software (your CD burning software) that was either unable to update both dll files because one was in use, or replaced one file with an older or newer version than you already had, but not the other.

    This article at Microsoft addresses this and provides a solution (which is to download the ODBC components from Microsoft and reinstall):

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;Q170769

    BTW, you can view what versions of ODBC library files you have by going to Control Panel / ODBC Data Sources, and selecting the ABOUT tab.

    Good luck!

    Lowell
     
  5. GUSMAN

    GUSMAN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    774
    cheers gnosiless,
    I tried the other two things first guys but with no luck, but after downloading the stuff I needed, it is working fine now. Thanks to all for your replies.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63841

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice