1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: really slow internet speed on one computer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rhbiz123, Feb 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Hello Everyone,
    I need help please. I have 4 computers (iMac, 2 laptops and 1 PC desktop) on a wireless network in different rooms of my house. All but one have 20+ mbps speed. The problem desktop computer is new but has 2.4 mbps speed. I have cable modem with a fast bandwidth and a Cisco N600 router.

    I changed the network card (ASUS PCE-N53 Wireless -N Adapter) in the problem computer which didn't improve anything. As I write this, I am using a laptop on the desk with the problem computer and just did a speedtest which came in at 20.13 mbps. If I hard wire the problem computer it runs at 30+ mbps.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Robert
     
  2. compukid7

    compukid7

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    What web browser are you using? Internet Explorer can make your internet browsing slower..
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    on the desktop can we see an xirrus screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  4. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for you help, here is the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  5. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Sorry forgot to ID the SSID for you it is named robndeneseshouse
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you connect to the open signal does that improve performance at all ?
     
  7. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    No it doesn't I'm afraid
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you downloaded and installed the driver from the acer site and not just updated

    often this will not work but sometimes it does in safe mode

    Safemode with networking
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    For windows 8
    http://www.howtogeek.com/107511/how-to-boot-into-safe-mode-on-windows-8-the-easy-way/
    http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-boot-into-windows-8-safe-mode/
    http://dottech.org/89409/windows-8-how-to-turn-on-safe-mode/
     
  9. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    OK tried that and I have the latest driver
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did safemode work ?
     
  11. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you that improved it a lot............................Cheers
    Robert.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. rhbiz123

    rhbiz123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for all of your help, I appreciate it very much. At this time, the last suggestion improved the down;load rate and internet speed to an acceptable level.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved really slow
  1. Sassyapple
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    264
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090799

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice