1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Realtek PCI-e NIC: Media Disconnected msg

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jpart, Feb 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jpart

    jpart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I used Vipre to remove a virus and now I can not access internet.
    I'm running Win 7 and have a Realtek RTL 8168C network card that was working fine before the virus removal.
    I installed new driver for my Realtek card and searched the help forums
    When I go to CMD line and type IPCONFIG, the result is:
    Media State: Media Disconnected

    But the light on the PCI-E card is working.

    Any suggestions ? thanks
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Welocome to TSG:
    Let's see
    Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    And:
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 8.8.8.8

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
    And where did you get the driver for the realtec card ?
     
  3. jpart

    jpart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Answers to your steps:
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    Just one: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    No
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    Yes the Nvidia display adapter - see screenshot below

    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    Under Properties-General it says " the device is working properly"

    5. If error code,what is it ?
    No error codes seen unless I type IPCONFIG and it says Media State...Media Not Connnected

    I uploaded Screenshot of Device mgr mostly expanded.
    I got the latest driver from the Realtek website

    For the PING tests, they all got a response with no apparent errors and I have uploaded those screenshots too
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jpart

    jpart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I am uploading a couplre more screenshots related to the PING tasks
    Even PING yahoo.com seemed to work (or something came back)

    I wonder why Internet Explorer does not work..

    thanks for all your help
    j
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Yep:You appear to have a working internet connection.I see no "media disconnected"states,only the Tunnel cluster which is ok.
    So when you try to go to a web site,what error msgs do you get.?
    If you suspect an IE issue,might want to run an IE reset
    Can you ping the site that you are having trouble with ??
    Have you uninstalled the card in device manager and re-booted ?
    Another thing to try,probably will not help,but worth a shot:
    For Windows 7 or Vista:

    Click Start > Programs > Accessories > right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    In the Command Prompt, type: ipconfig /flushdns
    Just curious.
    Go back to device manager,select the network adapter,probably in the advanced section,do you see a mac address there ?
     
  6. jpart

    jpart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    (y)So it turns out there was nothing wrong with my Realtek NIC card or software !
    I did the IE reset and I'm back on the Web using Internet Explorer.
    I guess those Media Disconnected messages on the Tunnel Cluster were OK as you said.

    You saved me from calling a local Computer Repair guy at $75/hour (my wife scheuidled him to come out tomorrow) but I followed your advice and I'm back !

    thanks so much I plan to go to the Donate page and contribute:)

    Bye for now:)
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Glad I could help:
    You may mark this thread solved using button at top left.
    Happy networking
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/980649