1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: recover files off hard drive with exfat format

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dotted, Nov 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dotted

Dotted Thread Starter

I'm new to Vista. I bought a 320gig hard drive and a external case and formated it with EXFAT. Ran into some problems and now Vista won't read the drive. I've tried 9 different recovery programs but none works with EXFAT. Is there anything out there that will? (yes, I didn't know what I was doing when I formated it. I thought FAT was FAT!) Any help will be greatly appreciated -Dot

2. aly369

aly369

3. Dotted

Dotted Thread Starter

I don't see the EXFAT listed under GParted supported formats. Unless EXFAT has a different name. -Dot

4. aly369

aly369

5. Dotted

Dotted Thread Starter

Thank-you, But I don't see the EXFAT or FAT64 listed under GParted supported formats. -Dot PS: I have found several download sites that says a program will work with FAT64 but when I go to the Manufacture website they really don't.

6. aly369

aly369

ok right right click on my computer and click manage and go to disk management is the hard disk there

7. Dotted

Dotted Thread Starter

yes 298.09 GB RAW (Healthy Primary Partition) It always ask me if I want to format it when I plug it in.

8. aly369

aly369

err im sorry the drive has refromatted it self because iyou formatted it as a fat64 youve lost all your files :( im sorry but next time format it to NFTS

9. Dotted

Dotted Thread Starter